Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Arizona Women's Hall of Fame

Project Tags

view all


  • Terry Baer, Source:
    Erma Bombeck (1927 - 1996)
    Biography== Erma Bombeck was born on February 21, 1927 in Bellbrook, Greene County, Ohio, United States. Her parents were Cassius Edwin Fiste and Erma Fiste (Haines) . Erma married William L Bombeck . ...
  • Maie Bartlett Heard (1868 - 1951)
    Bartlett Heard (1868–1951) was an Arizona-based collector and philanthropist, who cofounded the Heard Museum of native American art.BackgroundBorn on June 11, 1868, in Chicago, to parents Adolphus C. B...
  • Mary-Russell Ferrell Colton (1889 - 1971)
    Ferrell Colton (March 25, 1889 – July 26, 1971) was an American artist, author, educator, ethnographer, and curator. She is one of the principal founders of the Museum of Northern Arizona. She was a me...
  • Lorna E. Lockwood, Chief Justice of Arizona (1903 - 1977)
    Lorna Elizabeth Lockwood (March 24, 1903 – September 23, 1977) was an American lawyer and judge who served as justice (and at times chief justice) of the Arizona Supreme Court.Born in what was then Ari...
  • Cindy Lou McCain (1954 - d.)
    Lou Hensley McCain (born May 20, 1954) is an American businesswoman, and philanthropist, and the wife of United States Senator and 2000 and 2008 presidential candidate John McCain of Arizona.She was bo...

The Arizona Women's Hall of Fame recognizes women natives or residents of the U.S. state of Arizona for their significant achievements or statewide contributions. In 1979, the office of Governor Bruce Babbitt worked with the Arizona Women's Commission to create the Hall of Fame. The first inductees were in October 1981. During its first decade, the Hall of Fame was overseen by the Arizona Historical Society and the Arizona Department of Library, Archives and Public Records. A steering committee would each year select a varying number of women to be inducted. The 1991 inclusion of Planned Parenthood creator Margaret Sanger resulted in disapproval being heard from some in the Arizona Legislature, and funding dried up. With the lone exception of Maria Urquides in 1994, there were no Hall of Fame inductees for over a decade. Inductions finally resumed in 2002, and since that year the Hall of Fame has only inducted new honorees every two years.

Current sponsorship of the Arizona Women's Hall of Fame is provided by the Arizona Department of Library, Archives and Public Records, the Arizona Historical Society, Arizona Humanities Council, Governor's Division for Women and the Sharlot Hall Museum. The Hall of Fame has a permanent exhibit at the Carnegie Center in Phoenix, Arizona.