Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Arkansas County, Arkansas

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Arkansas County, Arkansas.


Arkansas County is a county located in the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 19,019. Located in the Arkansas Delta, the county has two county seats, De Witt and Stuttgart.

The first of the state's 75 present-day counties to be created, Arkansas County was formed on December 13, 1813, when this area was part of the Missouri Territory. The county was named after the Arkansas River (itself named for the Arkansas tribe), as was the subsequent Arkansas Territory. This was later split off from Missouri Territory and eventually admitted to the union as a state. The riverfront areas in the Arkansas Delta were developed for cotton plantations, based on the use of slaves. Cotton was the major commodity crop before and after the Civil War. Other crops such as soybeans are also cultivated now, in industrial-scale production.

The Battle of Saint Charles took place on June 17, 1862, during the American Civil War. The battle was a land and naval engagement, in which Union gunboats engaged Confederate shore batteries and gunboats in a firefight, while infantry troops were landed on the western bank of the White River and eventually drove the Confederate forces from their shore batteries. The battle site occupies about 9 acres on the west bank the River southeast of Saint Charles. There are no signs left of the Confederate batteries, and the area is an undeveloped swampland, as it was in 1862.

Adjacent Counties



Maxwell Street Bridge


North Jackson Street Bridge

St. Charles Battle Monument

St. Charles Battle Site