Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Benton County, Minnesota

Project Tags

view all


  • Cecelia Alma Jacobs (1896 - 1987)
  • Mary Fleegel (1877 - 1960)
  • Odin C. Braine (1871 - 1949)
  • Beata Buttweiler-Jacobs (Hofmann) (1903 - 2006)
    Obituary: St. Cloud Times, St Cloud, Minnesota, 4 January 2006 A Mass of Christian Burial will be at 12:30 pm on Friday, Jan. 6, 2006 at St. Paul's Catholic Church in St. Cloud for Beata Buttweiler-Jac...
  • Lt. Col. Andrew Peter "Andy" Sufka (1918 - 2012)
    Andrew (Andy) Sufka Rice ~ Little Falls April 17, 1918 ~ March 12, 2012 Andrew (Andy) Sufka, a Benton County farmer and recent resident of St. Otto's Care Center in Little Falls, died of natural cau...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Benton County, Minnesota.

Official Website

Established in 1849 and organized in 1850, the county is one of the oldest in Minnesota. It was named for Thomas Hart Benton, a United States Senator from Missouri. Its county seat for many years was Sauk Rapids, at the confluence of the Sauk and Mississippi Rivers. The county seat moved to Watab in 1856 and returned to Sauk Rapids in 1859. Sauk Rapids became the terminus of a railroad line in 1874, but was destroyed by a tornado in 1886. In 1897 the county seat moved to Foley, where it remains. As St. Cloud expanded into a metropolitan area, the northern part of Benton County became a suburb.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Townships & Communities

Alberta | Brennyville | Duelm | Estes Brook | Foley (County Seat) | Fruitville | Gilman | Gilmanton | Glendorado | Graham | Granite Ledge | Jakeville | Langola | | Mayhew Lake | Maywood | | Minden | North Benton | Oak Park | Parent | Popple Creek | Rice | Ronneby | Royalton (part) | Rum River | Saint Cloud (part) | Saint George | Sartell (part) | Sauk Rapids | Silver Corners | Watab


Cemeteries of Minnesota



MN Gen Web

Genealogy Trails

Benton County Historical Society