Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Breathitt County, Kentucky

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Breathitt County, Kentucky.


The area now encompassed by Kentucky's Breathitt County was first bounded in 1772, when all of what is now the state of Kentucky was in the frontier county of Fincastle County, Virginia. Fincastle was divided in 1776, with the western portion named Kentucky County, Virginia. In 1780, Virginia set aside all land in Kentucky County for soldiers who had served in the Revolutionary War. In 1780, Kentucky County was divided into 3 counties, Jefferson, Fayette, and Lincoln. Lincoln County was divided in 1799, with part becoming Knox County. In 1807, the Legislature partitioned the upper part of Knox to create Clay County. On February 6, 1839, a portion of Clay (along with portions of Estill and Perry Counties) was partitioned off to create Breathitt County. It was named after Governor John Breathitt.

Adjacent Counties


  • Altro
  • Bays
  • Cane Creek
  • Caney
  • Canoe
  • Chenowee
  • Clayhole
  • Cockrell Fork
  • Crockettsville
  • Elkatawa
  • Evanston
  • Fishtrap
  • Flintville
  • Frozen
  • Frozen Creek
  • Fugate's Fork
  • Gauge
  • Haddix
  • Hardshell Caney
  • Hayes Branch
  • Jackson (County Seat)
  • Leatherwood
  • Lost Creek
  • Morris Fork
  • Ned
  • Nix Branch
  • Noble
  • Noctor
  • Oakdale
  • Portsmouth
  • Quicksand
  • River Caney
  • Riverside
  • Rose Branch
  • Rousseau
  • Rowdy
  • Saldee
  • Sebastian's Branch
  • Shoulder Blade
  • Smith Branch
  • South Fork
  • Troublesome Creek
  • Turner's Creek
  • Vancleve
  • War Creek
  • Watts
  • Whick
  • Wilstacy
  • Wolfcoal



Genealogy Trails

Crain's Store

Jackson Post Office

Stacey Hotel