Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Caernarfonshire - Main Page

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Caernarfonshire - Main Page

Historic County of Wales

(Sir Gaernarfon)

This is the Umbrella project for Caernarfonshire

Go to People Connected to Caernarfonshire

Still to come

  • Caernarfonshire Genealogical Resources
  • Caernarfonshire Historical Page

HELP is always welcome!!


Also known as Carnarvonshire or, in Welsh, as Sir Gaernarfon.

A maritime County bounded N. by the Irish Sea, E. by Denbighshire, S. by Cardigan Bay and Merioneth, and W. by Caernarfon Bay and the Menai Straits, which separates it from Anglesey.

Area 1961 - 364,108 acres (1,473.49

Population 1961 - 121 767

Admin. Headquarters Caernarfon

Chapman code CAE

Motto: Cadernid Gwynedd (The strength of Gwynedd)

County Flower Snowdon Lily - Lloydia serotina

The surface is mountaineous. A large part of the Snowdonia National Park lies in the County including Snowdon, the highest mountain in Wales (3560 ft). The Lleyn Peninsula is less mountaineous and contains many bays and sandy beaches. Bardsey Island is a major site for nesting seabirds. The River Conwy runs north along the E. boundary. Sheep rearing and tourism are the main industries, the coast being much developed for the latter.

Places of special interest:

  • Bardsey Island (SH1221);
  • Caernarfon Castle (SH4762);
  • Conwy Castle (SH7877);
  • Cricceith Castle (SH4937);
  • Great Orme Tramway (SH7883);
  • Gwydir Castle, nr. Llanrwst (SH7961);
  • Penrhyn Castle (SH6071);
  • Swallow Falls, Betws-y-Coed (SH7657);
  • Snowdon Mountain Railway, Llanberis (SH5859);
  • Ty Mawr Wybrnant (SH7752).

Principal towns

  • Bangor,
  • Betws-y-Coed,
  • Caernarfon,
  • Conwy,
  • Llandudno
  • Porthmadog
  • Pwllheli.

See Table of Welsh Place names (Table listing where places are in Current [Post 1974/1996] Welsh Counties/Historic Counties


The county was divided into ten hundreds based on the existing Welsh commotes: * Cymydmaen (anglicised as Commitmaen),

  • Creuddyn,
  • Dinllaen,
  • Eifionydd (Evionydd),
  • Cafflogion (Gaflogion),
  • Llechwedd Isaf (...Isav),
  • Llechwedd Uchaf (...Uchav),
  • Nant Conwy (Nant-Conway),
  • Is Gwyrfai (Isgorvai) a
  • Uwch Gwyrfai (Uchgorvai).

Read more:

Parish Map

from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

For full size image see North Wales - Phillimore - open the full view and use the magnify tool.