Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The Clerk of the House of Commons is the senior administrative officer in the Canadian House of Commons.

The Clerk of the House of Commons advises the Speaker of the House of Commons and Members of Parliament on matters of parliamentary procedure. As well, the Clerk is involved in the management of the House of Commons. The office is modelled on the Clerk of the House of Commons of the United Kingdom. The Clerk of the Senate fulfills a similar role in the Senate of Canada. Prior to the establishment of this office, there was the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada. William Burns Lindsay was the last clerk of that house.

  • William Burns Lindsay (1867 to 1872)
  • Alfred Patrick (1873 to 1880)
  • Sir John George Bourinot (1880 to 13 October 1902)
  • Thomas Barnard Flint (October 1902 to 1917)
  • William Barton Northrup (1918 to 1924)
  • Arthur Beauchesne (1925 to 1949)
  • Léon Raymond (1949 to 1967)
  • Alistair Fraser (1967 to 1979)
  • Bev Koester (1980 to 1987)
  • Robert Marleau (1987 to 2000)
  • William C. Corbett (2000 to 19 May 2005)
  • Audrey O'Brien (20 May 2005 to present)