Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

College of the North Atlantic

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

College of the North Atlantic (CNA) is one of the largest post-secondary educational and skills training centres in Atlantic Canada, with a history dating back 50 years. This college has 17 campus locations throughout the province of Newfoundland and Labrador in Canada, various partner universities in China and operate a technical education college for the State of Qatar in the Middle East. The enabling legislation is the College Act.

The headquarters for College of the North Atlantic and the Bay St. George campus are located in Stephenville, on the west coast of the island portion of Newfoundland and Labrador. College of the North Atlantic offers nearly 100 full-time program offerings and more than 300 part-time courses for some 25,000 students each year.



District Vocational Schools (DVS) open around the province. Over the next few years DVS open in:

  • Labrador City
  • Happy Valley-Goose Bay
  • St. Anthony
  • Corner Brook
  • Stephenville Crossing
  • Port aux Basques
  • Baie Verte
  • Springdale
  • Grand Falls - Windsor
  • Lewisporte
  • Gander
  • Bonavista
  • Clarenville
  • Burin
  • Placentia
  • Carbonear
  • Seal Cove

College of Trades and Technology opens in St. John’s. Heavy Equipment School opens in Stephenville.


Adult Upgrading Centre opens in Stephenville.


Bay St. George Community College established in Stephenville encompassing the District Vocational School in Stephenville Crossing, the Adult Upgrading Centre and the Heavy Equipment School.


Two Institutes and five Community Colleges are formed from the former District Vocational Schools, the College of Trades and Technology and the Bay St. George Community College. These Colleges are:

  1. Cabot Institute
  2. Fisher Technical College
  3. Avalon Community College
  4. Eastern Community College
  5. Central Newfoundland Community College
  6. Labrador Community College
  7. Western Community College


The Fisher Technical College is renamed the Fisher Institute of Applied Arts and Technology. Western Community College is renamed Western College of Applied Arts and Technology.


Five Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology and Continuing Education are formed from the two Institutes and five Community Colleges. These Colleges are:

  1. Cabot College
  2. Eastern College
  3. Central Newfoundland Community College
  4. Westviking College
  5. Labrador College


College of the North Atlantic is formed from the five previous Colleges.