Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Confederate States of America

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Cpl. John Thomas Arnold, CSA (1847 - 1932)
    John enlisted in Company F, 1st North Carolina Junior Reserves at Camp Holmes on May 30, 1864 and mustered in as a Private. He was promoted to 3rd Corporal subsequent to July-August, 1864 and was promo...
  • Col. (CSA), Henry Eaton Coleman (1837 - 1890)
    Born at "Woodlawn" Died at "The Oaks" 12th N.C. Inf. C.S.A. Col Henry Eaton Coleman received a serious head wound in the battle at Spotsylvania, VA. (May 12, 1864) He was taken to "Oakville" to r...
  • (CSA), William Henry Gerrard (1837 - 1918)
    He married Ann Rebecca Bean on 15 Mar 1866 in Hardy County, WV. Wm Henry fought for the Confederacy during the American Civil War. William Henry Gerrard BIRTH 20 Apr 1837 Hampshire County, Massachu...
  • Pvt.(CSA), Granville Gibson (1836 - 1913)
    Granville Gibson (abt 1829-10 Mar 1913, Vandalia, Lewis, West Virginia) - Death Age: 84/Farmer/White/Married/Male. FHL Film Number: 825107. (*)The will for Granville Gibson names wife, Margaret, and ...
  • Lt.(CSA), Franklin Hawkins (1838 - 1864)
    Lt. Franklin Hawkins the son of John Milton Hawkins and Mary Graham RALSTON Hawkins. Frank was killed in the war on August 14, 1864. I believe the unit he served in was TN 22nd Inf. Co.G. A World Con...

The Confederate States of America (CSA or C.S.A.), commonly referred to as the Confederacy, was an unrecognized secessionist state existing from 1861–65. It was originally formed by seven slave states in the Lower South region of the United States whose regional economy was mostly dependent upon agriculture, particularly cotton, and a plantation system of production which in turn largely relied upon slave labor. Each had declared their secession from the United States following the November 1860 election of Republican Abraham Lincoln on a platform which opposed expansion of slavery. The new nation was proclaimed in February 1861 before Lincoln took office in March, but was considered illegal by the U.S. After war began in April, four states of the Upper South also declared their secession and joined the Confederacy. The Confederacy later accepted Missouri and Kentucky as members, although neither officially declared secession nor were ever controlled by Confederate forces.


Also see

External links