Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Cumberland County, North Carolina

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Cumberland County, North Carolina.

Official Website

The county was formed in 1754 from Bladen County. It was named for Prince William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765), captain-general of the British army and victorious commander at the Battle of Culloden.

In 1771 parts of Cumberland County, Johnston County, and Orange County were combined to form Wake County. In July 1784 the western part of Cumberland County became Moore County; the eastern part became Fayette County in honor of the Marquis de la Fayette, but the name Cumberland County was restored three months later. The county was represented as Fayette County in the North Carolina General Assembly of April 1784. In 1855 the northern part of Cumberland County became Harnett County. Finally, in 1911 parts of Cumberland County and Robeson County were combined to form Hoke County.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Communities

  • Beaver Dam
  • Black River
  • Carver's Creek
  • Cedar Creek
  • Cross Creek
  • Eastover
  • Falcon
  • Fayetteville (County Seat)
  • Fort Bragg
  • Godwin
  • Gray's Creek
  • Hope Mills
  • Linden
  • Manchester
  • Pearce's Mill
  • Pope AFB
  • Rockfish
  • Seventy-First
  • Spring Lake
  • Stedman
  • Vander
  • Wade



National Register of Historic Places

NC Gen Web


Genealogy Inc.

Genealogy Trails

USGW Archives

NC Estate Files - Cumberland County

North Carolina Pioneers