Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Dane County, Wisconsin

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Dane County, Wisconsin.

Official Website

Dane County was formed in 1836 as a territorial county and organized in 1839. It was named after Nathan Dane, a Massachusetts delegate to the Congress of the Confederation who helped carve Wisconsin out of the Northwest Territory. Dane County was settled in the 1840s by settlers from New England. It contains the city of Madison, the state capitol. It also contains the Ho-Chunk Indian Reservation.

Adjacent Counties


  • Edgarton (part)
  • Fitchburg
  • Madison (County Seat)
  • Middleton
  • Monona
  • Stoughton
  • Sun Prairie
  • Verona

Other Towns, Villages & Communities: Albion, Alden's Corners, Ashton, Ashton Corners, Baker's Corners, Basco, Belleville (part), Berry, Black Earth, Blooming Grove, Blue Mounds, Bristol, Brooklyn (part), Burke, Cambridge (part), Christiana, Cottage Grove, Cross Plains, Daleyville, Dane, Deansville, Deerfield, DeForest, Door Creek, Dunkirk, Dunn, East Bristol, Elvers, Five Points, Forward, Hanerville, Highwood, Hillside, Hoffman Corners, Hope, Indian Heights, Kegonsa, Kingsley Corners, Klevenville, London (part), Lutheran Hill, Maple Bluff, Marshall, Martinsville, Marxville, Mazomanie, McFarland, Medina, Middleton Junction, Montrose, Morrisonville, Mount Horeb, Mt. Vernon, Nora, North Bristol, Norway Grove, Old Deerfield, Oregon, Paoli, Perry, Pierceville, Pine Bluff, Pleasant Springs, Primrose, Riley, Rockdale, Roxbury, Rutland, Schey Acres, Seminary Springs, Shorewood Hills, Springdale, Springfield, Springfield Corners, Stone, Token Creek, Utica, Vermont, Vienna, Vilas, Waunakee, West Middleton, Westport, Windsor, York and York Center



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places