Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Dawes County, Nebraska

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Dawes County, Nebraska.

Official Website

Dawes County was a part of the unorganized area of northwestern Nebraska until February 19, 1877 when it became a part of Sioux County from which it was separated February 19, 1885 and was given its present name.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Villages & Communities

  • Belmont (Ghost Town)
  • Bordeaux
  • Chadron (County Seat)
  • Crawford
  • Horn
  • Marsland
  • Pine Ridge
  • Whitney



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places

Nebraska National Forest (part)

Pine Ridge Nat'l Rec. Area

Oglala National Grasslands (part)