Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Drexel University College of Medicine

Top Surnames

view all


Drexel University College of Medicine is the medical school of Drexel University, a private research university in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The medical school represents the consolidation of two medical schools: Hahnemann Medical College, originally founded as the nation's first college of homeopathy, and the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania, the first U.S. medical school for women,[1] which became the Medical College of Pennsylvania when it admitted men in 1970; these institutions merged together in 1993, became affiliated with Drexel University College of Medicine in 1998, and were fully absorbed into the university in 2002.

With one of the nation's largest enrollments for a private medical school, Drexel University College of Medicine is the second most applied-to medical school in the United States.[2][3] It is ranked no. 83 in research by U.S. News & World Report.

The college is housed in East Falls, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, at the Queen Lane Campus, near the Henry Ave site of the former Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania. The Queen Lane Campus is primarily used by students during their preclinical training. The Center City Hahnemann University Hospital Campus was the college's primary teaching hospital until its closure in 2019.

The College of Medicine follows a systems-based curriculum that is graded pass/fail. Beginning with the 2017-2018 school year, the MD program transitioned into a curriculum known as "Foundations and Frontiers". Designed to train physicians that are adept at navigating the increasingly multidisciplinary healthcare system of tomorrow, this new curriculum includes essential emerging competencies such as an understanding of population health, health informatics, and health care systems and financing. To foster a greater sense of community, first year medical students are divided into six learning societies based on local iconic landmarks: Athenaeum; Liberty Bell; Physick House; Rocky Statue; Reading Terminal; and Eakins House.