Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Effingham County, Illinois

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Otis Walden Gross (1895 - 1980)
    Otis Gross, 85, Casey died Thursday, October 30, 1980 aty 5:45p.m. in St. Anthony Hospital, Effingham. He was born September 27, 1895 the son of James and Annabelle Gross. He married Grace Spivy April...
  • Annette "Nettie" Berry (1877 - 1894)
    On marriage certificate. he is 22 yrs old, she is 14. She says her fathers name was Little and mothers name was Bray. Married at the home of John McElhiney.
  • Julia M Switzer (1880 - 1929)
  • Pvt. Benjamin Franklin Bradley, (USA) (1845 - 1928)
    ILLINOIS CIVIL WAR DETAIL REPORT Name BRADLEY, BENJAMIN F Rank PVT Company A Unit 26 IL US INFPersonal Characteristics Residence EFFINGHAM CO, IL Age 18 Height 5' 4 Hair LIGHT Eyes BLUE Complexion LIGH...
  • Mildred Elizabeth Morgan (1902 - 1992)
    PS -California Death Index Name Mildred Elizabeth Morgan Event Type Death Event Date 06 Mar 1992 Event Place Sacramento, California, United States Birth Date 29 Jan 1902 Birthplace Illinois Father's Na...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Effingham County, Illinois.

Effingham County was formed in 1831 out of Fayette and Crawford counties. It may have been named after Thomas Howard, 3rd Earl of Effingham, who resigned his commission as general in the British army in 1775, refusing to serve in the war against the Colonies. The name is Anglo-Saxon for "Effa's house". New information suggests that the county was named after a surveyor who surveyed the area whose last name was Effingham. There is no written proof that the county was named after Lord Effingham.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Villages

  • Altamont
  • Beecher City
  • Dieterich
  • Edgewood
  • Effingham (County Seat)
  • Mason
  • Montrose
  • Shumway
  • Teutopolis
  • Watson

Townships: Banner, Bishop, Douglas, Jackson, Liberty, Lucas, Mason, Moccasin, Mound, St. Francis, Summit, Teutopolis, Union, Watson and West



Effingham County Courthouse

The Dr. Charles M. Wright House