Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Gallatin County, Montana

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Gallatin County, Montana.

Official Website

During the territorial era, a small patch of land known as "Lost Dakota" existed as a remote exclave of Dakota Territory until it was transferred to Gallatin County, Montana Territory, in 1873. It is named for Albert Gallatin, the United States Treasury Secretary who formulated the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Adjacent Counties

Cities & Towns

  • Belgrade
  • Bozeman (County Seat)
  • Manhattan
  • Three Forks
  • West Yellowstone

Other Communities: Accola, Amsterdam, Big Sky, Bridger, Camona, Chestnut, Churchill, Clarkston, Country Court, Deer Park, Edilou, Eustis, Four Corners, Francis, Gallatin Gateway, Gallatin River Ranch, Grayling, Hebgen Lake Estates, Hillman, King Arthur Park, Logan, Maudlow, Menard, Ponderosa Pines, Sedan, Springhill, West Gallatin, White and Willow Creek


Cemeteries of Montana



Gallatin National Forest (part)

Yellowstone National Park (part)

National Register of Historic Places

Genealogy Trails

Gallatin County Genealogical Society

Roots Web


Gallatin History Museum