Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Geary County, Kansas.

Official Website

Geary County was originally named Davis County in 1855 after Jefferson Davis (then the United States Secretary of War). During the American Civil War, when Davis became president of the Confederacy, attempts were made to change the county's name, but both failed. Federal and state census records show it as Davis County from 1860 through 1885. In 1888 the county was renamed in honor of John W. Geary, an early Governor of the Kansas Territory.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns, Townships & Communities

  • Alida (extinct)
  • Blakely
  • Fort Riley
  • Grandview Plaza
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Junction City (County Seat)
  • Liberty
  • Milford
  • Smoky Hill
  • Wingfield
  • Wreford



First Territorial Capitol of Kansas

Fort Riley - Official Website

National Register of Historic Places

Genealogy Trails

KS Gen Web

Roots Web

Geary County Historical Society