Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Giller Prize for Canadian Fiction - Nominees

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


  • Nancy Richler (1957 - 2018)
    Richler (May 16, 1957 – January 18, 2018) was a Canadian novelist.[1][2] Her novels won two international awards and were shortlisted for three others; Richler was also shortlisted for the Canadian Boo...

This project is for the nominees for the Giller Prize for Canadian Fiction. The winners of the Giller Prize for Canadian Fiction are in a separate project.


Jury: Alice Munro, Mordecai Richler, David Staines

  • Bonnie Burnard, Casino and Other Stories
  • Eliza Clark, What You Need
  • Shyam Selvadurai, Funny Boy
  • Steve Weiner, The Museum of Love


Jury: Mordecai Richler, David Staines, Jane Urquhart

  • Timothy Findley, The Piano Man's Daughter
  • Barbara Gowdy, Mister Sandman
  • Leo McKay, Jr., Like This
  • Richard B. Wright, The Age of Longing


Jury: Bonnie Burnard, Carol Shields, David Staines

  • Gail Anderson-Dargatz, The Cure for Death by Lightning
  • Ann-Marie MacDonald, Fall on Your Knees
  • Anne Michaels, Fugitive Pieces
  • Guy Vanderhaeghe, The Englishman's Boy


Jury: Bonnie Burnard, Mavis Gallant, Peter Gzowski

  • Michael Helm, The Projectionist
  • Shani Mootoo, Cereus Blooms at Night
  • Nino Ricci, Where She Has Gone
  • Carol Shields, Larry's Party


Jury: Margaret Atwood, Guy Vanderhaeghe, Peter Gzowski

  • André Alexis, Childhood
  • Gail Anderson-Dargatz, A Recipe for Bees
  • Barbara Gowdy, The White Bone
  • Greg Hollingshead, The Healer
  • Wayne Johnston, The Colony of Unrequited Dreams


Jury: Alberto Manguel, Judith Mappin, Nino Ricci

  • Timothy Findley, Pilgrim
  • Anne Hébert, Am I Disturbing You?
  • Nancy Huston, The Mark of the Angel
  • David Macfarlane, Summer Gone


Jury: Margaret Atwood, Alistair MacLeod, Jane Urquhart

  • Alan Cumyn, Burridge Unbound
  • Elizabeth Hay, A Student of Weather
  • Eden Robinson, Monkey Beach
  • Fred Stenson, The Trade


Jury: David Adams Richards, Joan Clark, Robert Fulford

  • Sandra Birdsell, The Russlander
  • Michael Crummey, River Thieves
  • Michael Redhill, Martin Sloane
  • Timothy Taylor, Stanley Park
  • Jane Urquhart, The Stone Carvers


Jury: Barbara Gowdy, Thomas King, W. H. New

  • Bill Gaston, Mount Appetite
  • Wayne Johnston, The Navigator of New York
  • Lisa Moore, Open
  • Carol Shields, Unless


Jury: Rosalie Abella, David Staines, Rudy Wiebe
  • Margaret Atwood, Oryx and Crake
  • John Bemrose, The Island Walkers
  • John Gould, Kilter: 55 Fictions
  • Ann-Marie MacDonald, The Way the Crow Flies


Jury: M. G. Vassanji, Alistair MacLeod, Charlotte Gray

  • Shauna Singh Baldwin, The Tiger Claw
  • Wayson Choy, All That Matters
  • Pauline Holdstock, Beyond Measure
  • Paul Quarrington, Galveston
  • Miriam Toews, A Complicated Kindness


Jury: Warren Cariou, Elizabeth Hay, Richard B. Wright

  • Joan Barfoot, Luck
  • Camilla Gibb, Sweetness in the Belly
  • Lisa Moore, Alligator
  • Edeet Ravel, A Wall of Light


Jury: Adrienne Clarkson, Alice Munro, Michael Winter

  • Rawi Hage, De Niro's Game
  • Pascale Quiviger, The Perfect Circle (translation by Sheila Fischman)
  • Gaétan Soucy, The Immaculate Conception (translation by Lazer Lederhendler)
  • Carol Windley, Home Schooling


Jury: David Bergen, Camilla Gibb, Lorna Goodison

  • Michael Ondaatje, Divisadero
  • Daniel Poliquin, A Secret Between Us (trans. Donald Winkler)
  • M. G. Vassanji, The Assassin's Song
  • Alissa York, Effigy


Jury: Margaret Atwood, Bob Rae, Colm Toibin

  • Anthony De Sa, Barnacle Love
  • Marina Endicott, Good to a Fault
  • Rawi Hage, Cockroach
  • Mary Swan, The Boys in the Trees


Jury: Russell Banks, Victoria Glendinning, Alistair MacLeod

  • Kim Echlin, The Disappeared
  • Annabel Lyon, The Golden Mean
  • Colin McAdam, Fall
  • Anne Michaels, The Winter Vault


Jury: Michael Enright, Claire Messud, Ali Smith

  • David Bergen, The Matter with Morris
  • Alexander MacLeod, Light Lifting
  • Sarah Selecky, This Cake Is for the Party
  • Kathleen Winter, Annabel


Jury: Howard Norman, Annabel Lyon, Andrew O'Hagan

  • David Bezmozgis, The Free World
  • Lynn Coady, The Antagonist
  • Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers
  • Zsuzsi Gartner, Better Living Through Plastic Explosives
  • Michael Ondaatje, The Cat's Table


Jury: Roddy Doyle, Gary Shteyngart, Anna Porter

  • Alix Ohlin, Inside
  • Nancy Richler, The Imposter Bride
  • Kim Thúy, Ru
  • Russell Wangersky, Whirl Away


Jury: Margaret Atwood, Esi Edugyan, Jonathan Lethem

  • Dennis Bock, Going Home Again
  • Craig Davidson, Cataract City
  • Lisa Moore, Caught
  • Dan Vyleta, The Crooked Maid


Jury: Shauna Singh Baldwin, Justin Cartwright, Francine Prose

  • David Bezmozgis, The Betrayers
  • Frances Itani, Tell
  • Heather O'Neill, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night
  • Miriam Toews, All My Puny Sorrows
  • Padma Viswanathan, The Ever After of Ashwin Rao


Jury: John Boyne, Cecil Foster, Alexander MacLeod, Helen Oyeyemi, Alison Pick

  • Samuel Archibald, Arvida (translated by Donald Winkler)
  • Rachel Cusk, Outline
  • Heather O'Neill, Daydreams of Angels
  • Anakana Schofield, Martin John