Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Governors-General of India

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Col. Sir Henry Ravenshaw Thuilliell (deceased)
    Colonel Sir Henry Ravenshaw Thuilliell was invested as a Knight Commander, Order of the Indian Empire (K.C.I.E.)He gained the rank of Colonel in the service of the Royal Engineers. He held the office o...
  • Sir James Brooke, HH The (1st) Rajah of Sarawak (1804 - 1868)
    , Rajah of Sarawak, KCB (born James Brooke; 29 April 1803 – 11 June 1868) was a British adventurer whose exploits in areas of the Malay Archipelago led to him becoming the first White Rajah of Sarawak....
  • Warren Hastings (1732 - 1818)
    Hastings (6 December 1732 – 22 August 1818), an English statesman, was the first Governor of the Presidency of Fort William (Bengal), the head of the Supreme Council of Bengal, and thereby the first de...
  • Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878 - 1972)
    He was informally called Rajaji or C.R., was an Indian lawyer, Indian independence activist, politician, writer, statesman and leader of the Indian National Congress who served as the last Governor-Gen...
  • Louis Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma (1900 - 1979)
    Admiral of the Fleet Louis Francis Albert Victor Nicholas Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma, KG, GCB, OM, GCSI, GCIE, GCVO, DSO, PC== Royal house ==* House of Battenberg (Cadet branch of the H...

Governors-General of India

The Governor-General of India (or, from 1858 to 1947, the Viceroy and Governor-General of India) was originally the head of the British administration in India and, later, after Indian independence in 1947, the representative of the Indian monarch and head of state. The office was created in 1773, with the title of Governor-General of the Presidency of Fort William. The officer had direct control only over Fort William, but supervised other British East India Company officials in India. Complete authority over all of British India was granted in 1833, and the official became known as the Governor-General of India.

In 1858, the territories of the East India Company came under the direct control of the British government; see British Raj. The governor-general (now also the viceroy) headed the central government of India, which administered the provinces of British India, including the Punjab, Bengal, Bombay, Madras, the United Provinces, and others. However, much of India was not ruled directly by the British government; outside the provinces of British India, there were hundreds of nominally sovereign princely states or "native states", whose relationship was not with the British government, but directly with the monarch. To reflect the governor-general's role as the representative of the monarch to the feudal rulers of the princely states, from 1858 the term Viceroy and Governor-General of India (known in short as the Viceroy of India) was applied to him.

The title of viceroy was abandoned when India and Pakistan gained their independence, but the office of governor-general continued to exist—as representatives of George VI as king of India and king of Pakistan, respectively—until they adopted republican constitutions in 1950 and 1956.

Until 1858, the governor-general was selected by the Court of Directors of the East India Company, to whom he was responsible. Thereafter, he was appointed by the sovereign on the advice of the British government; the Secretary of State for India, a member of the UK Cabinet, was responsible for instructing him on the exercise of his powers. After 1947, the sovereign continued to appoint the governor-general, but did so on the advice of the Indian government.

Governors-general served five-year terms, but could be removed earlier. After the conclusion of a term, a provisional governor-general was sometimes appointed until a new holder of the office could be chosen. Provisional governors-general were often chosen from among the provincial governors.

List of Governors-General of India