Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame

Project Tags

view all


  • Anna B. Lawther (1872 - 1957)
    Bell Lawther (September 8, 1872 - October 21, 1957) was a leader in the women's suffrage movement in the U.S. state of Iowa.Lawther was born in Dubuque, Iowa, the daughter of William Lawther and Annie ...
  • Ada Hayden (1884 - 1950)
    Hayden (14 August 1884 – 12 August 1950) was an American botanist, educator, and preservationist. She was the curator of the Iowa State University Herbarium, which was renamed the Ada Hayden Herbarium ...
  • Susan Keating Cook / Matson (1876 - 1948)
    Glaspell, Susan (1876-1948)Playwright, Actor, Story Writer, Biographer, Novelist. Active 1900-1948 in USA, North AmericaFeminist criticism has been re-instating Susan Glaspell in the canon of American ...
  • Jeannette Eyerly (1908 - 2008)
    Jeannette Eyerly (June 7, 1908 – August 18, 2008) was a writer of Young-adult fiction for girls and a columnist. She was a pioneer in dealing with controversial topics in novels for young people. Among...
  • Mary Jane Coggeshall (1836 - 1911)
    Jane (Whitely) Coggeshall (1836–1911) was an American suffragist known as the "mother of woman suffrage in Iowa". She was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1990.

The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame was created to acknowledge the accomplishments of female role models associated with the U.S. state of Iowa, and is an endeavor of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW). In 1972, the state of Iowa created the ICSW to oversee women's issues, with Cristine Swanson Wilson as its first chair. During Women's History Month every March, the ICSW sponsors a public "Write Women Back into History Essay Contest". Since the Hall of Fame's beginnings in 1975, four annual nominees are inducted by the ICSW and the Governor of Iowa in a public ceremony. The event is held on Women's Equality Day, which commemorates the August 26, 1920 ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution that gave women the right to vote. The honorees are nominated by the public via online forms available on the ICSW website. The ICSW also created the annual "Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice" in 1982. Wilson was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1989.