Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award winners

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Francis Ford Coppola
    Schooled in low-budget filmmaking, Francis Ford Coppola has gone on to direct some of the most financially successful and critically praised movies in U.S. cinematic history, including The Godfather ...
  • Cecil B. DeMille (1881 - 1959)
    Cecil Blount Demille, known as Cecil B. DeMille , was a pioneering film director - in both silent and sound movies. Starting in 1913, he became a dominant force in the Hollywood film industry for 40 ye...
  • Walt Disney (1901 - 1966)
    Walter Elias Disney was a multiple Academy Award-winning American film producer, director, screenwriter, voice actor, animator, entrepreneur and philanthropist. As the co-founder (with his brother Roy ...
  • Clint Eastwood
    Clinton "Clint" Eastwood, Jr. (born May 31, 1930) is an American film actor, director, producer, composer, and politician. Eastwood first came to prominence as a supporting cast member in the TV seri...
  • Samuel Goldwyn (1879 - 1974)
    Samuel Goldwyn (c. July 1879 – January 31, 1974) was an American film producer, and founding contributor executive of several motion picture studios. Biography Goldwyn was born Schmuel Gelbfisz in ...

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is awarded periodically at the Academy Awards ceremonies to "Creative producers, whose bodies of work reflect a consistently high quality of motion picture production." The award is named for Irving Thalberg, legendary head of the Production Division of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, who developed the company's reputation for sophisticated films. The trophy for award recipients is in the form of a bust of Thalberg rather than the familiar "Oscar" statuette. However, it is still counted as an "honorary Oscar". There have been 39 statuettes awarded to date.

10th – Darryl F. Zanuck

11th – Hal B. Wallis 

12th – David O. Selznick

14th – Walt Disney
15th – Sidney Franklin
16th – Hal B. Wallis
17th – Darryl F. Zanuck
19th – Samuel Goldwyn
21st – Jerry Wald
23rd – Darryl F. Zanuck
24th – Arthur Freed
25th – Cecil B. DeMille
26th – George Stevens
29th – Buddy Adler
31st – Jack L. Warner
34th – Stanley Kramer
36th – Sam Spiegel
38th – William Wyler
39th – Robert Wise
40th – Alfred Hitchcock
43rd – Ingmar Bergman
46th – Lawrence Weingarten
48th – Mervyn LeRoy
49th – Pandro S. Berman
50th – Walter Mirisch
52nd – Ray Stark
54th – Albert R. Broccoli
59th – Steven Spielberg
60th – Billy Wilder
63rd – David Brown and Richard D. Zanuck
64th – George Lucas
67th – Clint Eastwood
69th – Saul Zaentz
71st – Norman Jewison
72nd – Warren Beatty
73rd – Dino De Laurentiis
82nd – John Calley
83rd – Francis Ford Coppol