Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Itasca County, Minnesota

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Itasca County, Minnesota.

Official Website

Itasca County was first formed in 1849, upon the creation of the Minnesota Territory. The county is named after Lake Itasca, which is in turn a shortened version of the Latin words veritas caput, meaning 'truth' and 'head', a reference to the source of the Mississippi River. Portions of the Bois Forte and Leech Lake Indian reservations are in the county.

Adjacent Counties


  • Bigfork
  • Bovey
  • Calumet
  • Cohasset
  • Coleraine
  • Deer River
  • Effie
  • Grand Rapids (County Seat)
  • Keewatin
  • La Prairie
  • Marble
  • Nashwauk
  • Squaw Lake
  • Taconite
  • Warba
  • Zemple

Other Townships & Communities: Alvwood, Arbo, Ardenhurst, Balsam, Ball Club, Bass Lake, Bear River, Bearville, Bergville, Blackberry, Bowstring, Carpenter, Dora Lake, Dunbar, Feeley, Good Hope, Goodland, Grattan, Greenway, Gunn, Harris, Houpt, Iron Range, Jessie Lake, Kinghurst, Lake Jessie, Lawrence, Liberty, Little Sand Lake, Lone Pine, Mack, Marcell, Martin, Max, Moose Park, Morse, Nore, Northeast Itasca, Orth, Oteneagan, Pengilly, Pomroy, Rosy, Sago, Sand Lake, Spang, Splithand, Spring Lake, Stokes, Suomi, Swan River, Talmoon, Third River, Togo, Trout Lake, Wabana, Wawina, Wildwood and Wirt



Chippewa National Forest (part)

National Register of Historic Places (part)

Itasca County Historical Society

Genealogy Trails

MN Gen Web


USGW Archives