Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Justices of the High Court of Australia

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


  • Sir Douglas Ian Menzies KBE (1907 - 1974)
    Biographical Summary Sir Douglas Ian Menzies (1907-1974), judge, was born on 7 September 1907 at Ballarat, Victoria, second child and eldest son of Ballarat-born parents Francis Menzies, Congregation...
  • The Right Honourable Sir Adrian Knox, K.C., K.C.M.G., P.C. (1863 - 1932)
    King's Counsel (invested 1906) Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (awarded 1918) Privy Counsellor (appointed 1920) Biographical Summary Sir Adrian Knox (1863-1932), bar...
  • Sir Isaac Alfred Isaacs (1855 - 1948)
    Sir Isaac Alfred Isaacs (1855-1948), governor-general, judge and politician, was born on 6 August 1855 at Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, eldest of six children of Alfred Isaacs, tailor, and his wife ...
  • Sir Edmund Barton GCMG, KC - First Prime Minister of Australia (1849 - 1920)
    Sir Edmund Barton, GCMG, KC (18 January 1849 – 7 January 1920), Australian politician and judge, served as the first Prime Minister of Australia and became a founding justice of the High Court of Austr...

Scope of Project

This project is identify profiles of those men and women who have been appointed Justices of the High Court of Australia.


The following list contains the details of the men and women who have ever been appointed as Justices of the High Court of Australia. The High Court of Australia was formed in 1903 under the Judiciary Act 1903, and under Section 71 of the Australian Constitution the judicial power of the Commonwealth of Australia is vested in the Court. Since the passing of the Australia Act 1986, the court has been the highest court in the Australian court hierarchy.


List of Justices

  • Sir Samuel Griffith
  • Sir Edmund Barton
  • Richard O'Connor
  • Sir Isaac Isaacs
  • H. B. Higgins
  • Sir Frank Gavan Duffy
  • Sir Charles Powers
  • Albert Piddington
  • Sir George Rich
  • Sir Adrian Knox
  • Sir Hayden Starke
  • Sir Owen Dixon
  • H. V. Evatt
  • Sir Edward McTiernan
  • Sir John Latham
  • Sir Dudley Williams
  • Sir William Webb
  • Sir Wilfred Fullagar
  • Sir Frank Kitto
  • Sir Alan Taylor
  • Sir Douglas Menzies
  • Sir Victor Windeyer
  • Sir William Owen
  • Sir Garfield Barwick
  • Sir Cyril Walsh
  • Sir Harry Gibbs
  • Sir Ninian Stephen
  • Sir Anthony Frank Mason
  • Sir Kenneth Jacobs
  • Lionel Murphy
  • Sir Keith Aickin
  • Sir Ronald Wilson
  • Sir Gerard Brennan
  • Sir William Deane
  • Sir Daryl Dawson
  • John Toohey
  • Mary Gaudron
  • Michael McHugh
  • William Gummow
  • Michael Kirby
  • Kenneth Hayne
  • Ian Callinan
  • Murray Gleeson
  • Dyson Heydon
  • Susan Crennan
  • Susan Kiefel
  • Robert French
  • Virginia Bell
  • Stephen Gageler
  • Patrick Keane