Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Lieutenant Governors of Illinois

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 26


  • William McMurtry (1801 - 1875)
    William McMurtry (February 20, 1801 – April 10, 1875) was the 11th Lieutenant Governor of Illinois and a colonel in the Union Army during the American Civil War. McMurtry was born in Mercer County,...
  • Thomas Marshall (1817 - 1873)
    ) Thomas Alexander Marshall (4 November 1817 – 11 November 1873) was an American politician. In 1861 he served for a short time as Lieutenant Governor of Illinois. Life Thomas Marshall graduate...
  • Zadock Casey (c.1796 - 1862)
    Zadok Casey (March 7, 1796 – September 4, 1862) was an American politician who served as a U.S. Representative from Illinois from 1833 to 1843. He founded the city of Mount Vernon around 1817. He was...
  • John G. Oglesby (1878 - 1938)
    John Gillett Oglesby (March 19, 1873–May 27, 1938) was the 29th and 31st Lieutenant Governor of Illinois from 1909 to 1913, and again from 1917 to 1921. Born in Decatur, Illinois, on March 19, 1873...
  • Brevet Brig General John L. Beveridge (USA), Governor (1824 - 1910)
    Civil War Union Brevet Brigadier General, 17th Illinois Governor, US Congressman. Served as Major and commander of the 8th Illinois Volunteer Cavalry, and as Colonel and commander of the 17th Illin...

The Lieutenant Governor of Illinois is the second highest executive of the State of Illinois. In Illinois, the lieutenant governor and governor run on a joint ticket, and are directly elected by popular vote. Candidates for lieutenant governor ran separately in the primary from candidates for governor until 2014, when the system was changed to allow the gubernatorial nominee of a party to select the nominee for lieutenant governor. When the Governor of Illinois becomes unable to discharge the duties of that office, the lieutenant governor becomes acting governor. If the Governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor becomes governor. Under the Illinois Constitution, the Attorney General is next in line of succession to the Governor's office after the lieutenant governor, but does not succeed to the Lieutenant Governor's office. From the impeachment of Rod Blagojevich in 2009 until the inauguration of Sheila Simon in 2011, Attorney General Lisa Madigan would have become Governor if Pat Quinn had vacated the office. Historically, the lieutenant governor has been from either the Democratic Party or Republican Party.

List of Lieutenant Governors of Illinois