Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Lieutenant Governors of Louisiana

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Billy Nungesser (1959 - d.)
    Harold Nungesser (born January 10, 1959), is an American politician serving as the 54th and current Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana, since January 11, 2016.A Republican, Nungesser is also the former p...
  • Jay Dardenne (1954 - d.)
    Leigh "Jay" Dardenne Jr. (born February 6, 1954) served as the 53rd Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana, from 2010 to 2016. A Republican, he won a special election for lieutenant governor held in conjunct...
  • Scott Angelle (1961 - d.)
    Anthony Angelle (born November 20, 1961) is an American politician who is the current director of the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement in Washington, D.C. From 2013 to 2017, he was the Di...
  • Mitch Landrieu, 61st Mayor of New Orleans
    Joseph "Mitch" Landrieu (/ˈlændruː/ lan-drew;[2] born August 16, 1960) is the Mayor of New Orleans, former Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana, and a member of the Landrieu family. Landrieu is a member of...
  • Paul Hardy (1942 - d.)
    Jude Hardy (born October 18, 1942) is an American attorney from Baton Rouge, in the U.S. state of Louisiana, who was the first Republican to have been elected lieutenant governor of the U.S. state of L...

The Office of Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana (French: Lieutenant-Gouverneur de la Louisiane) is the second highest state office in Louisiana.

Paul J. Hardy, who served from 1988 to 1992, was the first Republican in the position after the Reconstruction Era.


The office was established by the Louisiana Constitution of 1845. Prior to that, the successor to the governor in the event of his death or resignation was the President of the Louisiana State Senate. A number of state senate presidents succeeded governors before the 1845 Constitution was adopted, including Henry S. Thibodaux, Armand Beauvais and Jacques Dupre.

The lieutenant governor presided over the Louisiana Senate from 1845 until the adoption of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. Today, the lieutenant governor exercises powers delegated to him or her by the governor as provided by law. She or he also serves as governor in the event of a vacancy in the office, if the governor is unable to act as governor, or is out of state. Under the constitution, the lieutenant governor no longer serves as ex officio president of the senate, but is made an ex officio member of each committee, board and commission on which the governor serves. (Louisiana Constitution Article IV, Section 6) Additionally, the lieutenant governor serves as commissioner of the Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

List of lieutenant governors