Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Lieutenant Governors of Pennsylvania

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 15


  • Walter Lyon (1853 - 1933)
    ) Walter Lyon (April 27, 1853 – March 21, 1933) was the sixth Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania as a Republican from 1895 to 1899. He was born in Shaler Township, Pennsylvania. He was educated at...
  • William Scranton III (1947 - d.)
    William Worthington Scranton, III (born July 20, 1947, in Scranton, Pennsylvania) served as the 26th lieutenant governor of Pennsylvania from 1979 to 1987 in the administration of Governor Richard Th...
  • Raymond P. Shafer, Governor (1917 - 2006)
    Raymond Philip "Ray" Shafer (March 5, 1917 – December 12, 2006) was an American politician who served as the 39th Governor of Pennsylvania from 1967 to 1971. Previously, he served as the 23rd Lieuten...
  • Arthur James, Governor (1883 - 1973)
    ) Arthur Horace James (July 14, 1883 – April 27, 1973) was an American lawyer, politician, and judge. A Republican, he served as the 14th Lieutenant Governor (1927-1931) and the 31st Governor (1939-1...
  • Gov. John Cromwell Bell, Jr. (1892 - 1974)
    . John Cromwell Bell, Jr. (October 25, 1892 – March 21, 1974) was an American lawyer, politician, and judge. He was the 18th Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania (1943–1947) before becoming the 33rd...

The lieutenant governor is a constitutional officer of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The lieutenant governor is elected for a four year term in the same year as the governor. Each party picks a candidate for lieutenant governor independently of the governors. The winners of the party primaries are then teamed together in a governor/lieutenant governor ticket which runs together in the fall general election. Michael J. Stack III is the incumbent lieutenant governor. The lieutenant governor presides in the Senate and is first in the line of succession to the governor; in the event the governor dies, resigns, or otherwise leaves office, the lieutenant governor becomes governor.

The office of lieutenant governor was created by the Constitution of 1873. As with the governor's position, the Constitution of 1968 made the lieutenant governor eligible to succeed himself or herself for one additional four-year term. The position's only official duties are serving as president of the state senate and chairing the Board of Pardons and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Council. Lieutenant governors often work on additional projects and have a full schedule of community and speaking events.

Pennsylvania is the only state that provides a residence (the "State House" at Fort Indiantown Gap) for its lieutenant governor. Constructed in 1940 and previously the governor's "summer residence", it became available for Pennsylvania's lieutenant governor in 1968 when the current governor's residence was completed in Harrisburg.

List of lieutenant governors