Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Marion County, Oregon

Project Tags

view all


  • Leland Lorin Morgan (1925 - 2014)
    Leland L. Morgan (May 10, 1925 - May 16, 2014) Leland L. Morgan U.S. Veteran Silverton – Leland Morgan was born to Jesse and Pauline (Hoff) Morgan in Tripp, South Dakota, one of 2 children. He proudl...
  • Betty Lee Morgan-Cotner, ♊ (1926 - 2001)
    Betty Lee Robbins Morgan Cotner Daughter of William Bryant Robbins and Mazie Elizabeth Brown OBITUARY: "Betty was born in White Salmon, Wash., and moved to Silverton in the early 1930s. She married L...
  • Belle Viola Gensaw (1907 - 1994)
  • Gene Packard (1925 - 2005)
    World War 2 Army Veteran.
  • Dr Burl Betzer (1905 - 1956)

Marion County was created by the Provisional Legislature of Oregon on July 5, 1843, as the Champooick District, one of the original four districts of the Oregon Country along with Twality (later Washington), Clackamas, and Yamhill counties. The four districts were redesignated as counties in 1845.

Originally, this political entity stretched southward to the California border and eastward to the Rocky Mountains. With the creation of Wasco, Linn, Polk, and other counties, its area was reduced in size. Marion County's present geographical boundaries were established in 1856.

In 1849, Salem was designated the county seat. The territorial capital was moved from Oregon City to Salem in 1852. The ensuing controversy over the location of the capital was settled in 1864 when Salem was confirmed as the state capital.


The county is named for Brig. Gen. Francis Marion, the Swamp Fox.