Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Marshall County, Indiana

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Marshall County, Indiana.

Official Website

The Indiana State Legislature passed an omnibus county bill on 7 February 1835 that authorized the creation of thirteen counties in northeast Indiana, including Marshall. It was named for U.S. Chief Justice John Marshall, who died in 1835. The government of the county was organized in 1836, during the early years of settlement and before the forced removal of the Potawatomi people in 1838. The first settlers had arrived in the county in 1835; they arrived as a result of the end of the Black Hawk War as well as the completion of the Erie Canal.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns, Townships & Communities

Argos | Bourbon | Bremen | Burr Oak | Center | Culver | Donaldson | German | Green | Harris | Hibbard | Inwood (formerly Pearson) | Koontz Lake (part) | Lapaz | Maxinkuckee | North | Old Tip Town | Plymouth (County Seat) | Polk | Teegarden | Tippecanoe | Tyner | Union | Walnut | West



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places