Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Medal of Honor recipients, Philippine–American War

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 18


  • Col. Webb Hayes (1856 - 1934)
    James Webb Cook Hayes (March 20, 1856 – July 26, 1934) was an American businessman and soldier. He co-founded a forerunner of Union Carbide, served in three wars, and received the Medal of Honor. ' ...
  • Major John A. Logan, Jr. (1865 - 1899)
    . John Alexander Logan, Jr (born Manning Alexander Logan ) (July 24, 1865–November 11, 1899) was a United States Army officer posthumously received the Medal of Honor for actions during the Philippin...
  • José B Nísperos, PVT (1887 - 1922)
    José B. Nísperos (December 30, 1887–September 1, 1922) was a member of the Philippine Scouts who received the Medal of Honor during the Philippine-American War. He was the first Asian to be awarded the...
  • George Franklin Shiels (1863 - 1943)
    The President of the United States in the name of The Congress takes pleasure in presenting the Medal of Honor to SHIELS, GEORGE F. Rank and Organization: Surgeon, U.S. Volunteers. Place ...
  • Joseph H. Leonard (1876 - 1946)
    The President of the United States of America, in the name of Congress, takes pleasure in presenting the Medal of Honor to Private Joseph H. Leonard, United States Marine Corps, for distinguished condu...

The Philippine-American War was an armed military conflict between the United States and the First Philippine Republic, fought from 1899 to at least 1902, which arose from a Filipino political struggle against U.S. occupation of the Philippines. While the conflict was officially declared over on July 4, 1902, American troops continued hostilities against remnants of the Philippine Army and other resistance groups until 1913, and some historians consider these unofficial extensions part of the war.

The Medal of Honor was created during the American Civil War and is the highest military decoration presented by the United States government to a member of its armed forces. The recipient must have distinguished themselves at the risk of their own life above and beyond the call of duty in action against an enemy of the United States. Due to the nature of this medal, it is commonly presented posthumously.

Eighty-six men were awarded the Medal of Honor for their actions in the Philippine–American War: 70 from the Army, 10 from the Navy, and 6 from the Marine Corps. Four of the awards were posthumous. Among the recipients were Webb Hayes, the son of former U.S. President Rutherford B. Hayes, and two prominent Marine Corps officers, Hiram I. Bearss and David Dixon Porter. Bearss became known for leading long-range reconnaissance patrols behind enemy lines and was later wounded as a colonel in World War I. Porter was from a distinguished military family and rose to become a major general. José B. Nísperos, a member of the Philippine Scouts who was honored for continuing to fight after being wounded, was the first Asian recipient of the Medal of Honor