Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Meritorious Service Medal (United States)

Project Tags

view all


  • Raul (Roy) Perez Benavidez, MSG (1935 - 1998)
    Raul (Roy) Perez Benavidez (August 5, 1935 – November 29, 1998) was a member of the Studies and Observations Group of the United States Army. He received the Medal of Honor for his actions in combat ne...
  • Colonel Robert L. Howard (1939 - 2009)
    The President of the United States in the name of The Congress takes pleasure in presenting the==Medal of Honor==to HOWARD, ROBERT L. Rank and organization: First Lieutenant, U.S. Army, 5th Special For...
  • Keith Davids
    Keith Bently Davids (born 1968) is an American United States Navy special warfare officer with the rank of rear admiral. He has served as the commander of Naval Special Warfare Command since August 1...
  • Lieutenant General Emmett H. Walker Jr. (1924 - 2007)
    Emmett H. 'Mickey' Walker (March 16, 1924 – December 11, 2007) was a U.S. Army lieutenant general who served as the Chief of the National Guard Bureau from 1982 to 1986.
  • Maj. Gen. T. K. Moffett (1949 - 2023)

The Meritorious Service Medal (MSM) is a military award presented to members of the United States Armed Forces who distinguished themselves by outstanding meritorious achievement or service to the United States subsequent to January 16, 1969.

The MSM was previously awarded as a decoration for achievement during peacetime, but effective September 11, 2001 this decoration may also be bestowed in lieu of the Bronze Star Medal for meritorious achievement in a designated combat theater. Normally, the acts or services rendered must be comparable to that required for the Legion of Merit but in a duty of lesser, though considerable, responsibility. Within the U.S. Army, according to AR 600-8-22, Paragraph 3-16, the MSM may not be upgraded to or downgraded from a recommended Bronze Star Medal. In the Army, an MSM recommendation that is downgraded will be approved as an Army Commendation Medal (ARCOM).

A higher award and decoration, the Defense Meritorious Service Medal (DMSM), is intended for similar services performed under joint duty within the United States Department of Defense, to include the Joint Staff, the Unified Combatant Commands, and joint task forces under their cognizance.