Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.
view all 18


  • Joseph M. Dixon, Governor, U.S. Senator (1867 - 1934)
    Joseph Moore Dixon (July 31, 1867 – May 22, 1934) was a Republican politician from Montana. He served as a Representative, Senator, and the seventh Governor of Montana. A businessman and a modernizer...
  • Edwin L. Norris, Governor (1865 - 1924)
    Edwin Lee Norris (August 15, 1865 – April 25, 1924) was a Democratic politician from Montana. He served as the fifth Governor of Montana. Biography Norris was born in Cumberland County, Kentucky ...
  • Hon. William Elmer Holt, Governor of Montana (1882 - 1945)
    Biography Hon. William Elmer Holt, Governor of Montana was born on October 14, 1882 in Missouri, United States. His parents were Benjamin King Holt and Susan Mariah Books . William married Lora Ber...
  • Jon Tester, U.S. Senator
    Jon Tester (born August 21, 1956) is the senior United States Senator from Montana, serving since 2007. He is a member of the Democratic Party. Tester was first elected to the Senate in 2006, beati...
  • Lee Mantle, U.S. Senator (1851 - 1934)
    Lee Mantle, a Senator from Montana; born in Birmingham, England, December 13, 1851; immigrated to the United States with his mother and settled at Salt Lake City, Utah, in 1864; attended a village scho...

The Montana State Legislature is the state legislature of the U.S. state of Montana. It is composed of the 100-member Montana House of Representatives and the 50-member Montana Senate.

The Montana Constitution dictates that the legislature meet in regular session for no longer than 90 days in each odd-numbered year. The primary work of the legislature is to pass a balanced biennial budget which must then be approved by the Governor.

Since the beginning of statehood for Montana, the Legislature has been split along party lines fairly consistently and evenly. Since adoption of the current state constitution in 1972, which mandated single-member legislative districts for the first time in the state's history, the Montana Senate has been controlled by Democrats in 9 sessions, and Republicans in 11 sessions. During the same period, the Montana House has been controlled by Democrats in 8 sessions and Republicans in 10 sessions with two ties. According to state law, in the instance of a tie, control goes to the party of the sitting Governor. The 63rd Legislature (2013–2014) is controlled by the Republican Party with the House having 61 Republican members and 39 Democratic members, and the Senate having 29 Republican members and 21 Democratic members.

Members are limited to serving no more than 8 years in either chamber but the term limit is consecutive not lifetime.

The Montana State Legislature meets in the state capital of Helena.

This is the place to put profiles of those who served as Montana State Senators and State Representatives.