Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Morton County, North Dakota

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Morton County, North Dakota.

Official Website

The county was created on January 8, 1873 by the Dakota Territory legislature, using territory that had not previously been included in any county. It was named for Oliver Hazard Perry Throck Morton (1823-1877), governor of Indiana during the American Civil War and later a United States Senator.

The 1,172-mile long Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL) route submitted in its final permit applications starting in September 2014 would include a 72-mile portion through Morton County. The county became a focus of DAPL protests in April 2016. In August 2016 the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe (SRST) filed an injunction against United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) to attempt to halt construction.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Townships, Communities

  • Almont
  • Bluegrass
  • Breien
  • Captain's Landing
  • Eagle Nest
  • Fallon
  • Flasher
  • Fort Rice
  • Glen Ullin
  • Harmon
  • Hebron
  • Huff
  • Judson
  • Mandan (County Seat)
  • New Salem
  • Rock Haven
  • St. Anthony
  • Sims
  • Solen
  • Sweet Briar
  • Timmer
  • Youngstown



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places

Lake Patricia Nat'l Wildlife Refuge