Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Vin Scully
    Vincent Edward "Vin" Scully (born November 29, 1927) is an American sportscaster, best known as the play-by-play announcer for the Los Angeles Dodgers MLB team. He has been with the team since its days...
  • Marv Albert
    Marv Albert (born Marvin Philip Aufrichtig; June 12, 1941) is an American sportscaster. Honored for his work as a member of the Basketball Hall of Fame, he is commonly referred to as "the voice of ba...
  • Bob Prince (1916 - 1985)
    Robert Ferris Prince (July 1, 1916 – June 10, 1985) was an American radio and television sportscaster and commentator best known for his 28-year stint as the voice of the Pittsburgh Pirates Major Lea...
  • Jack Brickhouse (1916 - 1998)
    John Beasley "Jack" Brickhouse (January 24, 1916 – August 6, 1998) was an American sportscaster. Known primarily for his play-by-play coverage of Chicago Cubs games on WGN-TV from 1948 to 1981, he ...
  • J.G. Taylor Spink (1888 - 1962)
    John George Taylor Spink (November 6, 1888 – December 7, 1962), or Taylor Spink, was the publisher of The Sporting News from 1914 until his death in 1962. He inherited the weekly American baseball ne...

National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) is an organization of sports media members in the United States. It constitutes the American chapter of the International Sports Press Association (AIPS).

The purpose of this organization is to recognize the sportscasters and sportswriters of the United States[1] for their leadership, devotion, contributions in developing integrity of character, sportsmanship, and physical fitness among both the youth and the adults of this and other nations. Salisbury, North Carolina, serves as the headquarters for NSSA, which is responsible for the organizing and counting of all the ballots for the National, 50 States plus D.C., and the Hall of Fame winners. There are now more than 80 inductees in the Hall of Fame.[2] The organization plans and funds the Annual Awards Program, and it will ultimately fund the NSSA Hall of Fame.

Hall of fame inductees (from NSSA website)