Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Newport County, Rhode Island

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Christopher Grant Perry (1812 - 1854)
    Christopher Grant Perry was the eldest son of Commodore Oliver H. Perry and Elizabeth Champlin Perry.He was a physician, and served as commander of the Artillery Company of Newport from April 1848 unti...
  • Edith Cecilia Oaks (1889 - 1965)
    Daughter of John Samuel and Annie Louise (Griffin) GeraghtyWife of Gerald Charles Oaks Their children: Benjamin Nichols Oaks (1918-2006) Gerald Charles Oaks Jr. (1919-1988) Virginia Jane Oaks Yarnell (...
  • Alice Irene Oaks (1897 - 1956)
    Alice Irene Geraghty Rhode Island, State Births Index, 1819, 1852-1900 Name: Alice Irene Geraghty Event Type: Birth Event Date: 26 Aug 1897 Event Place: Newport, Rhode Island, United States Event P...
  • Stuyvesant LeRoy French (1895 - 1974)
    1st Lieutenant of Infantry served with 54th Pioneer Infantry at Spartansburg, South Carolina during World War One until physically disabled by infantile paralysis. Photo from Francis R. Appleton. War R...
  • Pauline LeRoy MacRae (1886 - 1964)
    Married 1st: Samuel Jones Wagstaff, 1908 in Newport, Newport, Rhode Island Married 2nd: Donald Oliver MacRae, 1922 in Rhode Island "New York, New York City Marriage Records, 1829-1940", databa...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Newport County, Rhode Island.

Official Website

Newport County was constituted on June 22, 1703, as one of the two original counties of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. As originally established, Newport County consisted of four towns: Portsmouth, Newport, Jamestown, and New Shoreham. In 1746–47, two towns, Little Compton and Tiverton, were acquired from Massachusetts. In 1856, the town of Fall River was split off from Tiverton but was ceded to Massachusetts six years later in 1862 as part of the settlement of the boundary dispute between Rhode Island and Massachusetts. In 1963, the town of New Shoreham was transferred to Washington County. County government was abolished in Rhode Island in 1842 and today remains only for the purpose of delineating judicial administrative boundaries.

Cities & Towns

  • Jamestown
  • Little Compton
  • Middletown
  • Newport
  • Portsmouth
  • Tiverton

Other Villages & Communities: Adamsville, Beavertail, Bridgeport, Briggs Point, Bristol Ferry, Castle Hill, Cedar Island, Cedar Point, Coasters Harbor, Coddington Point, Common Fence Point, Conanicut, Corey Lane, Despair Island, Dutch Island, Dyer Island, Eagleville, Easton Point, Fogland Point, Fort Adams, Forty Steps, Freebody Hill, Goat Island, Gould Island, Grayville, Green's End, Hog Island, Homestead, Hope Island, Hummocks, Island Park, Melville, Nannaquaket, Newport East, North Tiverton, Ochre Point, Patience, Prudence, Quaker Hill, Rose Island, Sachuest, Sakonnet, Tiverton Four Corners, Tonomy Hill and Tunipus




Sachuest Point Nat'l Wildlife Refuge

Touro Synagogue b. 1763

Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places