Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Pearson Medal of Peace

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Escott Graves Meredith Reid, CC (1905 - 1999)
    Escott Graves Meredith Reid, CC (January 21, 1905 – September 28, 1999), was a Canadian diplomat who helped shape the United Nations and NATO, author, international public servant and academic admini...
  • Archbishop Edward Scott (1919 - 2004)
    Edward "Ted" Scott CC (April 30, 1919 – June 21, 2004) was a Canadian Anglican bishop. Scott was born in Edmonton, Alberta in 1919 and grew up in Vancouver, British Columbia where his father was a ...
  • Nancy Meek Pocock (1910 - 1998)
    Nancy Meek Pocock, O.Ont (October 24, 1910 – March 4, 1998) was the 1987 recipient of the Pearson Medal of Peace for her work in disarmament, development and feminism. She was awarded the Order of ...
  • Hugh L. Keenleyside (1898 - 1992)
    Hugh Llewellyn Keenleyside, CC (7 July 1898 – September 27, 1992) was a Canadian university professor, diplomat, and civil servant. He was the Canadian ambassador to Mexico from 1944 to 1947, and Com...
  • Muriel Duckworth (1908 - 2009)
    Muriel Helen Duckworth née Ball, CM, ONS (October 31, 1908 – August 22, 2009) was a Canadian pacifist, feminist and social and community activist. She was a practising Quaker, a religious denominatio...

Pearson Medal of Peace

The Pearson Medal of Peace is an award given out annually by the United Nations Association in Canada to recognize an individual Canadian's "contribution to international service". Nominations are made by any Canadian for any Canadian, excluding self-nominations. The medal was first announced in 1979 and named in honour of Lester B. Pearson, Nobel Peace Prize winner and Canada's fourteenth Prime Minister. The medal was to be selected by a jury of "eminent Canadians" and awarded by the Governor-General of Canada on United Nations Day, October 24. After the 2004 medal was awarded to Roméo Dallaire, it was not awarded again until it was revived in 2011 to honour peace activist Ernie Regehr.

Recipients of the Pearson Medal of Peace