Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

San Diego Chargers (NFL)

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 9


  • Sid Gillman (1911 - 2003)
    Sidney "Sid" Gillman (October 26, 1911 – January 3, 2003) was an American football player, coach, executive, and innovator. Gillman's insistence on stretching the football field by throwing deep down...
  • John Fox
    John Fox (born February 8, 1955) is an American football coach who is the head coach of the Chicago Bears of the National Football League (NFL). He has also coached the Carolina Panthers and the Denv...
  • Drew Brees
    Andrew Christopher "Drew" Brees is a quarterback for the New Orleans Saints of the National Football League. He was drafted by the San Diego Chargers in the second round of the 2001 NFL Draft. He playe...
  • Joey Bosa
    Joey Bosa (born July 11, 1995) is an American football defensive end for the Los Angeles Chargers of the National Football League (NFL). He played college football at Ohio State. He was selected thir...
  • Johnny Unitas (1933 - 2002)
    John Constantine Unitas (/juːˈnaɪtᵻs/; Lithuanian: Jonas Konstantinas Jonaitis; May 7, 1933 – September 11, 2002), nicknamed "Johnny U" and "The Golden Arm", was an American football player in the Na...

The San Diego Chargers are a professional American football team based in San Diego, California. The Chargers compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league's American Football Conference (AFC) West division. The club began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL), and spent its first season in Los Angeles, California, before moving to San Diego in 1961. The Chargers joined the NFL as result of the AFL–NFL merger in 1970, and play their home games at Qualcomm Stadium. The Chargers had been the only NFL team based in Southern California since the Raiders and Rams moved out of Los Angeles in 1994. On January 12, 2016, the Rams were approved by the NFL to relocate back to Los Angeles for the 2016 NFL season, and the Chargers were given a one-year option to join the Rams in the Los Angeles area. However, team chairman and CEO Dean Spanos announced on January 29, 2016, that the Chargers would remain in San Diego for the 2016 season.

On February 19, 2015, the Chargers and Raiders announced plans for a privately financed $1.7 billion stadium that the two teams would build in Carson, California if they were to move to the Los Angeles market. Both teams stated that they would continue to attempt to get stadiums built in their respective cities. However, on January 12, 2016, the NFL owners rejected this proposal in favor of a rival proposal by the Rams to build a stadium in Inglewood, California, southwest of downtown Los Angeles. At the same time, the NFL gave the Chargers an option through January 2017 to negotiate a lease at the Inglewood Stadium, which is expected to open in time for the 2019 NFL season. If the Chargers exercise that option, they would be authorized to relocate to the Los Angeles area at any time before 2019. Additionally, on January 14, 2016, the team filed a trademark application for the mark LOS ANGELES CHARGERS. According to the trademark filing, the application is based upon an alleged intent to use the mark with goods and services that would typically be associated with running, promoting and marketing a football team. The San Diego Chargers announced on Janiary 12, 2017 that they will be moving to Los Angeles for the 2017 NFL season, becoming the Los Angeles Chargers.

The Chargers won one AFL title in 1963 and reached the AFL playoffs five times and the AFL Championship four times before joining the NFL (1970) as part of the AFL–NFL merger. In the 43 years since then, the Chargers have made 13 trips to the playoffs and four appearances in the AFC Championship game. At the end of the 1994 season, the Chargers faced the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX and lost 49–26. The Chargers have seven players and one coach enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio: wide receiver Lance Alworth (1962–1970), defensive end Fred Dean (1975–1981), quarterback Dan Fouts (1973–1987), head coach/general manager Sid Gillman (1960–1969, 1971), wide receiver Charlie Joiner (1976–1986), offensive lineman Ron Mix (1960–1969), tight end Kellen Winslow (1979–1987), and linebacker Junior Seau (1990–2002).