Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Socorro County, New Mexico

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • James Grimes Fitch (1881 - d.)
    2122— II. Ivy Susan 10, born March 27, 1879, at Wichita; graduated from the University School of Music, Ann Arbor, Mich.. in 1902; married James Grimes, son of Capt. Asa Betts and Amelia (Grimes) Fitch...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Socorro County, New Mexico.

The county was formed in 1852 as one of the original nine counties of New Mexico Territory. Socorro was originally the name given to a Native American village (see: Puebloan peoples) by Don Juan de Oñate in 1598. Having received vitally needed food and assistance from the native population, Oñate named the pueblo Socorro ("succor" in English).

Socorro County is home to multiple scientific research institutions including New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and its associated Very Large Array, the Magdalena Ridge Observatory, and the Langmuir Laboratory for Atmospheric Research. Federal public lands in Socorro County include parts of the Cibola National Forest, the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge, the Sevilleta National Wildlife Refuge, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Socorro Field Office, parts of the Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument, and parts of the El Camino Real de Tierra Adentro National Historic Trail.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Villages, Towns & Communities

Abeytas | Adobe | Alamillo | Alamillo Pueblo | Alamo | Bernardo | Bingham | Bosquecito | Canta Recio | Carthage | Chamizal | Claunch | Contadero | Council Rock | Escondida | Field | Kelly | La Joya | Las Nutrias | Lemitar | Luis Lopez | Magdalena | Polvadera | Pueblito de la Parida | Paraje | Park City | Pilabó | Qualacu | Riley | Rosedale | Sabinal | San Acacia | San Antonio | San Antonito | San Felipe | San Marcial | San Pascual Pueblo | San Pedro | Senecú | Socorro (County Seat) | Tajo | Tokay | Val Verde | Veguita



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places

Bosque del Apache Nat'l Wildlife Ref.

Sevilleta Nat'l Wildlife Ref.

Cibola National Forest (part)

Salinas Pueblo Missions Nat'l Mon. (part)