Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Southwestern University

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 10


  • Hubert Renfro Knickerbocker (1898 - 1949)
    Pulitzer prize-winning war correspondent
  • John Tower, U.S. Senator (1925 - 1991)
    John Goodwin Tower (September 29, 1925 – April 5, 1991) was the first Republican United States senator from Texas since Reconstruction. He served from 1961 until his retirement in January 1985, after...
  • Pete Sessions, U.S. Congress
    Peter Anderson "Pete" Sessions (born March 22, 1955) is a politician from the state of Texas. He is a Republican, and currently represents the 32nd congressional district in the U.S. House of Represe...
  • Earle B. Mayfield, U.S. Senator (1881 - 1964)
    Earle Bradford Mayfield (April 12, 1881 – June 23, 1964) was a lawyer and Democratic Party politician from Overton, Texas who served in both the Texas State Senate and United States Senate. Mayfiel...
  • John Marvin Jones, U.S. Congress (1882 - 1976)
    John Marvin Jones, a Representative from Texas; born near Valley View, Cooke County, Tex., February 26, 1882; attended the common schools; John B. Denton College, A.B., 1902; Southwestern University,...

Southwestern University (also referred to as Southwestern or SU) is a private, four-year, undergraduate, liberal arts college located in Georgetown, Texas, United States. Formed in 1873 from a revival of collegiate charters granted in 1840, Southwestern claims to be the first university in Texas. The school is affiliated with the United Methodist Church with a nonsectarian curriculum. Southwestern offers 40 bachelor's degrees in the arts, sciences, fine arts, and music as well as interdisciplinary and pre-professional programs. The university is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the National Association of Schools of Music. In 2015, Southwestern celebrates its 175th Anniversary.

The university is a member of the Annapolis Group, the Associated Colleges of the South, the Council of Independent Colleges, and is a signatory of the Talloires Declaration.