Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Swift County, Minnesota

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Swift County, Minnesota.

Official Website

Swift County is in west central Minnesota and consists of 757 square miles with three tiers of seven townships each. It was established on February 18, 1870, and named for Henry Adoniram Swift, the third governor of Minnesota (1863–64).

The Indians had grievances against the government, including delays in sending annuities that caused near starvation several times. In August 1862, an Indian rebellion broke out in Minnesota. The warfare reached the settlements just getting started in northeastern Swift County. By late September 1862, the Indian War was almost over but the settlers hesitated to venture back to Swift County until 1865, when all danger was apparently over. Scandinavians and Germans were in decided majority among the early settlers. A number of them came with the honor and privileges of Civil War veterans.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Townships & Communities

Appleton | Benson (County Seat) | Camp Lake | Cashel | Clontarf | Danvers | De Graff | Dublin | Edison | Fairfield | Hayes | Hegbert | Holloway | Kerkhoven | Kildare | Marysland | Moyer | Murdock | Pillsbury | Shible | Six Mile Grove | Swenoda | Swift Falls | Tara | Torning | West Bank



Genealogy Trails

MN GenWeb

Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places