Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Alvin Elliot Roth, Nobel Prize Winner 2012
    Alvin Elliot Roth (born December 19, 1951) is an American economist who is currently a visiting professor at Stanford University as well as George Gund Professor of Economics and Business Administrat...
  • John Richard Hicks, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, 1972 (1904 - 1989)
    Sir John Richard Hicks (8 April 1904 – 20 May 1989) was a British economist and one of the most important and influential economists of the twentieth century. The most familiar of his many contr...
  • Kenneth Arrow, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, 1972
    Kenneth Joseph Arrow (born August 23, 1921) is an American economist and joint winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics with John Hicks in 1972. To date, he is the youngest person to have receiv...
  • Ragnar Frisch, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, 1969 (1895 - 1973)
    Ragnar Anton Kittil Frisch (3 March 1895 – 31 January 1973) was a Norwegian economist and the co-winner with Jan Tinbergen of the first Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1969. He is k...
  • Gunnar Myrdal (1898 - 1987)
    Karl Gunnar Myrdal (6 December 1898 – 17 May 1987) was a Swedish Nobel Laureate economist, sociologist, and politician. In 1974, he received the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences with Fr...

Project under construction............

The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, commonly referred to as the Nobel Prize in Economics, but officially the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (Swedish: Sveriges riksbanks pris i ekonomisk vetenskap till Alfred Nobels minne), is an award for outstanding contributions to the field of economics, generally regarded as one of the most prestigious awards for that field. While not one of the Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895, it is consistently identified with them. The Prize in Economics, as it is referred to by the Nobel Foundation, was established and endowed by Sweden's central bank Sveriges Riksbank, in 1968 on the occasion of the bank's 300th anniversary, in memory of Alfred Nobel. Like the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry and Physics, Laureates in Economics are selected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, and a Prize Committee similar to the Nobel Committees is used. It was first awarded in 1969 to the Dutch and Norwegian economists Jan Tinbergen and Ragnar Frisch, "for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes."

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 45 times to 69 Laureates between 1969 and 2013.

All Prizes in Economic Sciences:

  • 2013: jointly to Eugene F. Fama (b. 1939) American economist, and to: Lars Peter Hansen (b. 1952) American economist, and to: Robert J. Shiller (b. 1946) American economist, "for their empirical analysis of asset prices".
  • 2012: jointly to: Alvin E. Roth (b. 1951) American economist, and to: Lloyd S. Shapley (b. 1923) American mathematician and economist, "for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design"
  • 2011: jointly to: Thomas J. Sargent (b. 1943) American economist, and to: [ Christopher A. Sims] (b. 1942) American economist, "for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"
  • 2010 jointly to: Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen, Christopher A. Pissarides
  • 2009 jointly to: Elinor Ostrom, Oliver E. Williamson
  • 2008 Paul Krugman
  • 2007 jointly to: Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin, Roger B. Myerson
  • 2006 Edmund S. Phelps
  • 2005 jointly to: Robert J. Aumann, Thomas C. Schelling
  • 2004 jointly to: Finn E. Kydland, Edward C. Prescott
  • 2003 jointly to: Robert F. Engle III, Clive W.J. Granger
  • 2002 jointly to: Vernon L. Smith (b. 1927) American economist "for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis, especially in the study of alternative market mechanisms".
  • 2001 jointly to: George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence, Joseph E. Stiglitz
  • 2000 jointly to: James J. Heckman, Daniel L. McFadden
  • 1999 Robert A. Mundell
  • 1998 Amartya Sen
  • 1997 jointly to: Robert C. Merton, Myron S. Scholes
  • 1996 jointly to: James A. Mirrlees, William Vickrey
  • 1995 Robert E. Lucas Jr.
  • 1994 Jointly to: [ John C. Harsanyi] (), to John F. Nash Jr. (b. 1928) American mathematician, and to [ Reinhard Selten] () , "for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games".
  • 1993 jointly to: Robert W. Fogel, Douglass C. North
  • 1992 Gary S. Becker
  • 1991 Ronald H. Coase
  • 1990 jointly to: Harry M. Markowitz, Merton H. Miller, William F. Sharpe
  • 1989 Trygve Haavelmo
  • 1988 Maurice Allais
  • 1987 Robert M. Solow
  • 1986 James M. Buchanan Jr.
  • 1985 Franco Modigliani
  • 1984 Richard Stone
  • 1983 Gerard Debreu
  • 1982 George J. Stigler
  • 1981 James Tobin (1918 – 2002) American economist, "for his analysis of financial markets and their relations to expenditure decisions, employment, production and prices".
  • 1980 Lawrence R. Klein
  • 1979 jointly to: Theodore W. Schultz, Sir Arthur Lewis
  • 1978 Herbert A. Simon
  • 1977 jointly to:Bertil Ohlin, James E. Meade
  • 1976 Milton Friedman (1912 – 2006) American economist, "for his achievements in the fields of consumption analysis, monetary history and theory and for his demonstration of the complexity of stabilization policy".
  • 1975: jointly to: Leonid Vitaliyevich Kantorovich, Tjalling C. Koopmans
  • 1974: jointly to: Friedrich August von Hayek (1899 – 1992) Austrian born economist, "for their pioneering work in the theory of money and economic fluctuations and for their penetrating analysis of the interdependence of economic, social and institutional phenomena"
  • 1973: Wassily Leontief
  • 1972: jointly to: Kenneth J. Arrow (b. 1921) American economist, "for their pioneering contributions to general economic equilibrium theory and welfare theory".
  • 1971: Simon Kuznets
  • 1970 Paul A. Samuelson (1915 – 2009) American economist, "For the scientific work through which he has developed static and dynamic economic theory and actively contributed to raising the level of analysis in economic science."
  • 1969 jointly to: Jan Tinbergen (1903 – 1994) Dutch economist, "for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes"