Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Related Projects:

Showing 1-30 of 161 posts
Private User
2/14/2013 at 4:54 PM

Hi,

Projects are simply folders where people toss profiles. Our is getting big, but is it useful ?

There have been profiles added recently where there is no differentiation between ancestor, descendant and DAR member. That makes for a confused bucket. As a computer professional, I know that if this continues no one will ever come back and clean up this project and it will become dead - insteat of useful and vibrant.

Can we agree, now, that this is for ancestors only, or find some what to distinguish between the three catagories I identifed above ?

For profiles without other photos I use one graphic for the ancestor and another for the descendents - I do not add members at all because I don't see the value.

I would prefer this group to be ancestors ONLY. Then it would have specific value. Can we take a vote ?

2/14/2013 at 5:24 PM

It's easy to set up "related" projects, too - and to rename the projects.

I am most aware of "ancestors" and "drop them in as I run across them.". I put in a link to the DAR database with the ancestor number so people can research descendants.

What about something like:

DAR (ancestors)
DAR (descendants)
DAR (members) *

* remember that living profiles are collaborators and can only be invited. And recent generation members (such as grandmothers) would need to be set to public to be in a project.

Thanks Annelise, it's a great question. I love this project and think it's such a wonderful service.

Private
2/14/2013 at 8:27 PM

I haven't been part of the project for very long, but was surprised when I noticed, starting about a month ago, so many descendants and members being added in addition to Patriots. It was already a huge project and now it has become quite unwieldy. I would definitely vote to split the three groups into separate projects.

Private User
2/14/2013 at 8:59 PM