Goals of the Project

Started by Hatte Blejer (absent until Nov 1) on Thursday, August 22, 2013
Showing all 5 posts
8/22/2013 at 8:02 AM

I knew less about Lomza than about Suwalki when I started this project, which is why I focused on the three towns I knew a little about (Grajewo where my cousin Hank Mishkoff's family lived and Rajgrod and Szczuczyn where my ancestors lived).

Since others with ancestors from these towns, as well as additional towns, have joined the project, I thought we should review my original goals and add others' goals.

I started learning about the Suwalki and Lomza areas by reading Landsmen, which influenced how I think about family research in these areas. First, surnames are relatively recent and were not used consistently. People might change their surnames to avoid conscription and many changed their surnames again when they immigrated to England, America, South America and South Africa. Even in the mid 1800s, there are records of the Margolis family using the toponymic "Kalwaryiski" (derived from Kalvarija where they lived 50 years earlier). Surnames of females are absent from all but the later records of the Russian Empire. Also, many of our ancestors lived in small towns for 100 - 200 years, where many families in the town were related by marriage and blood. Cousins married cousins for generations. And when they emigrated, they often lived with, intermarried with, and were buried with landsmen for a generation or more.