Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Aurora County, South Dakota

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Aurora County, South Dakota.


Aurora County, named for Aurora, the Roman goddess of the dawn, was created by the Dakota Territory on 1 October 1879. It was organized on 29 August 1881, when three county commissioners were appointed. The county had been established from the combination of former counties Cragin and Wetmore, which had both been formed in 1873. The three county commissioners met on 29 August 1881, and named Plankinton the county seat, an act which was ratified by voters in November 1882. The northern portion of Aurora County was partitioned off on April 17, 1883, and established as Jerauld County.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Communities

  • Aurora Center
  • Plankinton (County Seat)
  • Stickney
  • Storla
  • White Lake



The Hofmeister House

Patten Consolidated School

The Raesly House

The Van Dyke Hotel

Underwood UMC