Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Fred Otto Ingwersen (1884 - 1943)
  • Agnes Maker (1927 - d.)
    Residence • 1930 Jefferson, Clayton, Iowa, United States Residence • 1935 Rural, Clayton, Iowa Residence • 1940 Boardman Township, Clayton, Iowa, United States
  • Arlyn Arthur Schroeder (1949 - 2018)
    Arlyn Arthur Schroeder, 69, of Monona, Iowa died Monday, September 3, 2018 in the home he grew up in, built by his parents in 1959, following a two year long battle with Multiple Myeloma. He was born ...
  • Harlan Henry Schroeder (1941 - 1998)
  • Arleen Ruth Schroeder (1922 - 1987)

Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Clayton County, Iowa.

Official Website

The county was established in 1837 and was named in honor of John M. Clayton, United States Senator from Delaware and later Secretary of State under President Zachary Taylor.

Adjacent Counties


  • Clayton
  • Edgewood
  • Elkader (County Seat)
  • Farmersburg
  • Garber
  • Garnavillo
  • Guttenberg
  • Luana
  • Marquette
  • McGregor
  • Monona
  • North Buena Vista
  • Osterdock
  • Postville
  • St. Olaf
  • Strawberry Point
  • Volga

Other Communities & Townships: Beulah, Boardman, Buena Vista, Cass, Ceres, Clayton Center, Communia, Cox Creek, Eckards, Elk, Elkport, Fairview, Froelich, Giard, Grand Meadow, Gunder, Hardin, Highland, Jefferson, Littleport, Lodomillo, Mallory, Marion, McGregor Heights, Mederville, Mendon, Millville, Motor, Osborne, Read, Saint Sebald, Sperry, Thomasville, Turkey River, Updegraff, Wagner, Watson and Wood



Driftless Area Nat'l Wildlife Refuge (part)

Effigy Mounds Nat'l Monument (part)

Upper Mississippi River Nat'l Wildlife & Fish Ref. (part)

Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places