Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Crawford County, Wisconsin

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Crawford County, Wisconsin.

Official Website

Along with Brown County, Crawford County is one of Wisconsin's original counties, established by the Michigan Territorial legislature in 1818, and named after William H. Crawford, James Monroe's Treasurer at the time. It originally covered the western half of Wisconsin's present area. In 1836, it was transferred to the newly formed Wisconsin Territory as Michigan prepared for statehood and has gradually been subdivided into its present area.

Adjacent Counties

Cities & Villages

  • Bell Center
  • De Soto (part)
  • Eastman
  • Ferryville
  • Gays Mills
  • Lynxville
  • Mount Sterling
  • Prairie du Chien (County Seat)
  • Soldiers Grove
  • Steuben
  • Wauzeka

Other Towns & Communities: Barnum, Boydtown, Bridgeport, Charme, Clayton, Easter Rock, Fairview, Freeman, Haney, Harmony Hill, Marietta, Montgomeryville, Mount Zion, North Clayton, Petersburg, Pine Knob, Plugtown, Reed, Rising Sun, Rolling Ground, Seneca, Towerville, Utica, White Corners and Yankee Town



National Register of Historic Places

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife & Fish Refuge

Genealogy Trails

USGW Archives

Roots Web


1901-1902 Map of Crawford County