Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Dearborn County, Indiana

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Dearborn County, Indiana.

Official Website

The western boundary of Ohio had been determined by the Greenville Treaty Line of 1795. In 1803 a wedge, or pie shaped, piece of land in Hamilton County east of the treaty line along Ohio's southwestern border was ceded to the Indiana Territory. It was nicknamed "The Gore," and became Dearborn County. All or part of seven other present day counties were carved from the original county with the present boundaries being established in 1845. It was named for U.S. Secretary of War Gen. Henry Dearborn.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Townships

  • Aurora
  • Caesar Creek
  • Center
  • Clay
  • Dillsboro
  • Greendale
  • Harrison
  • Hogan
  • Jackson
  • Kelso
  • Lawrenceburg (County Seat)
  • Logan
  • Manchester
  • Miller
  • Moores Hill
  • Saint Leon
  • Sparta
  • Washington
  • West Harrison
  • York

Other Communities: Bonnell, Braysville, Bright, Chesterville, Cold Springs, Dover, Farmer's Retreat, Guilford, Hardinsburg, Hidden Valley, Hubbels Corner, Kyle, Lawrenceburg Junction, Mount Sinai, New Alsace, Weisburg, Wilmington, Wright's Corner and Yorkville



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places