Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Douglas County, Wisconsin

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Douglas County, Wisconsin.

Official Website

Douglas County, named after Illinois Senator Stephen A. Douglas, was established on February 8, 1854, from the larger La Pointe County, Wisconsin, and the City of Superior was immediately selected as the county seat.

A portion of the Fond du Lac Indian Reservation is located within Douglas County.

Adjacent Counties

Cities & Towns

  • Amnicon
  • Bennett
  • Brule
  • Cloverland
  • Dairyland
  • Gordon
  • Hawthorne
  • Highland
  • Lakeside
  • Maple
  • Merriam (Ghost Town)
  • Millcrest (Ghost Town)
  • Morrison (annexed)
  • New Bristol (Ghost Town)
  • Nutt (Ghost Town)
  • Oakland
  • Parkland
  • Pokegama Junction (Ghost Town)
  • Solon Springs
  • Steele (Ghost Town)
  • Summit
  • Superior (County Seat)
  • Troy (Ghost Town)
  • Walbridge (Ghost Town)
  • Wascott
  • Way (Ghost Town)
  • Wiehe (Ghost Town)

Other Villages & Communities: Ambridge, Amnicon Falls, Anton, Beebe, Bellwood, Black River, Blueberry, Borea, Boylston, Boylston Junction, Carnegie, Chaffey, Cozy Corner, Cutter, Dedham, Dewey, Dobie, Four Corners, Foxboro, Hillcrest, Hines, Lake Nebagamon, Middle River, Moose Junction, Oliver, Patzou, Peyton, Pokegama, Poplar, Riverview, Rockmont, Saunders, Sauntry, South Itasca, South Range, Sunnyside, Walno, Wentworth and Winneboujou



St. Croix Nat'l Scenic Riverway (part)

Davidson Windmill

The SS Meteor

Wisconsin Point Lighthouse