Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Fayette County, West Virginia, USA

view all


  • James Harrison Holbert (1873 - 1954)
  • Robert Walter Skaggs (1895 - 1961)
    Robert Walter Skaggs BIRTH 27 Aug 1895 Romont, Fayette County, West Virginia, USA DEATH 1 Jul 1961 (aged 65) Montgomery, Fayette County, West Virginia, USA BURIAL Steele Cemetery Romont, Fayette County...
  • Elizabeth Ann "Bessie" Skaggs (1899 - 1988)
    Elizabeth Ann “Bessie” Steele Skaggs BIRTH 3 Sep 1899 USA DEATH 31 Jul 1988 (aged 88) Fayette County, West Virginia, USA BURIAL Steele Cemetery Romont, Fayette County, West Virginia, USA MEMORIAL ID ...
  • Clarence Andrew Smith (1902 - 1973)
    Clarence Andrew Smith BIRTH 28 Jan 1902 Spring Dale, Fayette County, West Virginia, USA DEATH 28 Jul 1973 (aged 71) Rainelle, Greenbrier County, West Virginia, USA BURIAL Wallace Memorial Cemetery Clin...
  • Vida Josephine Smith (1895 - 1982)
    Husband: Clarence Andrew Smith 1902–1973 Marriage: 11 Apr 1925 Fayetteville, Fayette County, West Virginia Vida Josephine Steele Smith BIRTH 1 Jun 1895 DEATH 13 Jan 1982 (aged 86) BURIAL Wallace...

Fayette County—originally Fayette County, Virginia—was created by the Virginia General Assembly in February 1831, from parts of Greenbrier, Kanawha, Nicholas, and Logan counties. It was named in honor of the Marquis de la Fayette, who had played a key role assisting the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War.

The second Virginia county so named, it was among the 50 counties which Virginia lost when West Virginia was admitted to the Union as the 35th state in 1863, during the American Civil War. The earlier Fayette County, Virginia existed from 1780 to 1792, and was lost when Kentucky was admitted to the Union. Accordingly, in the government records of Virginia, there will be listings for Fayette County from 1780 to 1792 and Fayette County from 1831 to 1863.

A substantial portion was subdivided from Fayette County to form Raleigh County in 1850. In 1871, an Act of the West Virginia Legislature severed a small portion to form part of Summers County.

In 1863, West Virginia's counties were divided into civil townships, with the intention of encouraging local government. This proved impractical in the heavily rural state, and in 1872 the townships were converted into magisterial districts. Fayette County was originally divided into four townships: Falls, Fayetteville, Mountain Cove, and Sewell Mountain. A fifth township, Kanawha, was formed from part of Falls Township in 1870. The portion of Fayette County that was taken to form Summers County was from Sewell Mountain Township. In 1872, the county's five townships were converted into magisterial districts. A sixth district, Quinnimont, was organized in the 1880s, and a seventh, Nuttall, was formed from part of Mountain Cove District in the 1890s. In the 1970s, the historic magisterial districts were consolidated into three new districts: New Haven, Plateau, and Valley.

Fayette County was the location of a disastrous mine explosion at Red Ash in March 1900, in which 46 miners were killed.

Fayette County elected several African Americans to the West Virginia House of Delegates during the early decades of the 20th century including the first, second and third who served in the state legislature.


Cemeteries of West Virginia



This project is a table of contents for all projects relating to this County of West Virginia. Please feel free to add profiles of anyone who was born, lived or died in this county.