Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

West Virginia with Counties, Cities, and Towns Project

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • General (George) Harrison “Harry” Lockhart (1835 - 1872)
    Father; John Moore Lockhart 1799–1871 Mother: Nancy Louise King Lockhart 1804–1883 Wife; Phoebe Cheuvront Lockhart 1836–1883 11 Siblings: William A Lockhart 1822 – unknown Enoch Steed Lockh...
  • Joseph (Joie) F Alkire (1792 - 1873)
  • Alice Susan Allen (1855 - 1923)
    Born Alice Susan (Susanne) or Susan Alice? Her sister Lydia was married to her brother in law Stephen Allen. Her sister Rose Garrett Allen was married to her brother in law Stephen Allen. Husband...
  • Charles Raymond Mason (1888 - 1960)
    From 1900 US Census, Central District, Doddridge Co., WV: "William A Mason Head M 37 West Virginia Ethaniva Mason Wife F 36 West Virginia Charles R Mason Son M 12 West Virginia Hattie L Mason Daugh...
  • Wilda Mae Kimble (1924 - 2010)
    Wilda M Hawkins Kimble- Find A Grave Memorial# 142144417 (Photo by: imagal49) 11 Children including: 8 sons, Othie (Marquette) Kimble of Buckhannon, WV, Johnny (Elizabeth) Kimble of LaGrange, Larry...

Unitied States Area Communities

This project is an umbrella project for all of the local jurisdictions within the State of West Virginia. West Virginia was formed from Virginia and many of its counties were already counties in Virginia at the time of its creation.

It is not necessary to add profiles to this project. Please add the profile to the appropriate locality associated with this project.

  1. Barbour County in 1843 from Harrison, Lewis and Randolph counties
  2. Berkeley County in 1772 from Frederick County
  3. Boone County in 1847 from Cabell, Kanawha, and Logan counties
  4. Braxton County 1836 Kanawha, Lewis, and Nicholas counties
  5. Brooke County 1796 Ohio County
  6. Cabell County 1809 Kanawha County
  7. Calhoun County 1856 Gilmer County
  8. Clay County 1858 Braxton and Nicholas counties
  9. Doddridge County 1845 Harrison, Lewis, Ritchie, and Taylor counties
  10. Fayette County 1831 Kanawha, Greenbrier, Logan and Nicholas counties
  11. Gilmer County 1845 Kanawha and Lewis counties
  12. Grant County 1866 Hardy County
  13. Greenbrier County 1778 Montgomery County (Virginia) and Botetourt County (Virginia)
  14. Hampshire County 1754 Augusta County (Virginia) and Frederick County (Virginia)
  15. Hancock County 1848 Brooke County
  16. Hardy County 1786 Hampshire County
  17. Harrison County 1784 Monongalia County
  18. Jackson County 1831 Kanawha, Mason, and Wood counties
  19. Jefferson County 1801 Berkeley County
  20. Kanawha County 1789 Greenbrier and Montgomery County (Virginia)
  21. Lewis County 1816 Harrison County
  22. Lincoln County 1867 Boone, Cabell, Kanawha and Putnam counties
  23. Logan County 1824 Cabell and Kanawha counties, Giles County (Virginia) and Tazewell County (Virginia)
  24. Marion County 1842 Harrison and Monongalia counties
  25. Marshall County1835 Ohio County
  26. Mason County 1804 Kanawha County
  27. McDowell County 1858 Tazewell County (Virginia)
  28. Mercer County 1837 Giles County (Virginia) and Tazewell County (Virginia)
  29. Mineral County1866 Hampshire County
  30. Mingo County 1895 Logan County
  31. Monongalia County 1776 Augusta County (Virginia)
  32. Monroe County1799 Greenbrier County
  33. Morgan County 1820 Berkeley and Hampshire counties
  34. Nicholas County 1818 Greenbrier, Kanawha and Randolph counties
  35. Ohio County 1776 Augusta County (Virginia)
  36. Pendleton County 1788 Augusta County (Virginia), Rockinham County (Virginia) and Hardy
  37. Pleasants County 1851 Ritchie, Tyler, and Wood counties
  38. Pocahontas County1821 Bath County (Virginia), Pendleton and Randolph
  39. Preston County 1818 Monongalia County
  40. Putnam County 1848 Cabell, Kanawha, and Mason counties
  41. Raleigh County 1850 Fayette County
  42. Randolph County1787 Harrison County
  43. Ritchie County 1843 Harrison, Lewis, and Wood counties
  44. Roane County 1856 Gilmer, Jackson and Kanawha counties
  45. Summers County 1871 Fayette, Greenbrier, Mercer and Monroe counties
  46. Taylor County 1844 Barbour, Harrison, Marion counties
  47. Tucker County 1856 Randolph County
  48. Tyler County 1814 Ohio County
  49. Upshur County 1851 Barbour, Lewis and Randolph counties
  50. Wayne County 1842 Cabell County
  51. Webster County 1860 Braxton, Nicholas, and Randolph counties
  52. Wetzel County 1846 Tyler County
  53. Wirt County 1848 Jackson and Wood counties
  54. Wood County 1798 Harrison County
  55. Wyoming County 1850 Logan County