Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


The Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) in Princeton, New Jersey, in the United States, is an independent, postdoctoral research center for theoretical research and intellectual inquiry founded in 1930 by American educator Abraham Flexner, together with philanthropists Louis Bamberger and Caroline Fuld. The IAS is perhaps best known as the academic home of Albert Einstein, Nobel Prize in Physics 1921, John von Neumann and Kurt Friedrich Gödel, after their immigration to the United States. Although it is close to and collaborates with Princeton University, Rutgers University, and other nearby institutions, it is not part of any university or federal agency and does not charge tuition or fees.


  1. Abraham Flexner [1930%E2%80%931939]
  2. Frank Aydelotte [1939%E2%80%931947]
  3. J. Robert Oppenheimer [1947%E2%80%931966]
  4. Carl Kaysen [1966%E2%80%931976]
  5. Harry Woolf [1976%E2%80%931987]
  6. Marvin Leonard Goldberger [1987%E2%80%931991]
  7. Phillip Griffiths [1991%E2%80%932003]
  8. Peter Goddard [2004%E2%80%932012]
  9. Robbert Dijkgraaf

Faculty Members

School of Mathematics

  • Oswald Veblen (1932-1960)
  • Albert Einstein (1933-1955)
  • John von Neumann (1933-1957)
  • Hermann Weyl (1933-1955)
  • James Alexander (1933-1947)
  • Marston Morse (1935-1962)
  • Atle Selberg (1951-2007)
  • Hassler Whitney (1952-1989)
  • Kurt Godel (1953-1978)
  • Chen Ning Yang (1955-1966)
  • Armand Borel (1957-2003)
  • Andre Weil (1958-1998)
  • Harish-Chandra (1963-1983)
  • John Milnor (1970-1990)
  • Robert Langlands (1972-present)
  • Pierre Deligne (1984-present)

School of Natural Sciences