Projects » Irish Revolutionaries of the 19th and 20th century » Profiles show advanced controls hide advanced controls

Sorted by date added

Focus Project
Refine This List
Choose basic attributes
Relationships, manager, etc.
Include birth, death, others
Customize your views 

James Meehan MP (1774 - 1826)

MEEHAN James ( Friendship ) Born in 1774 in Shinrone, County Offaly, he was a surveyor and schoolmaster as well as a sergeant in the United Irishmen by 1798. His surveying skills were in immediat...

1/28/2013 10/3/2016

Gobnait Ní Bhruadair MP (1861 - 1955)

"Gobnait Ní Bhruadair"

Gobnait Ní Bhruadair (17 December 1861 – 16 January 1955) was one of the foremost Irish republican women of the twentieth century. A lifelong radical, Gobnait campaigned passionately for causes as di...

12/30/2013 12/30/2013

Charlotte Despard (French) MP (1844 - 1939)

Charlotte Despard (née French) (15 June 1844 – 10 November 1939) was an English-born, later Irish-based suffragist, novelist, Sinn Féin activist, vegetarian and anti-vivisection advocate. Early lif...

8/18/2012 10/26/2013

Thomas Ashe MP (1885 - 1917)

Thomas Patrick Ashe Allegiance Irish Republican Brotherhood Irish Volunteers Years of service 1913–1917 Rank Battalion Commander Battles/wars Easter Rising Thomas Patrick Ashe was a...

9/22/2013 9/22/2013

Archibald Hamilton Rowan MP (1751 - 1834)

"Archibald Rowan-Hamilton"

Archibald Hamilton Rowan (May 1, 1751 – November 1, 1834), christened Archibald Hamilton (sometimes referred to as Archibald Rowan Hamilton), was an Irish celebrity and a founding member of The Dublin ...

3/9/2009 2/18/2013

Constance Georgine Markievicz, Countess Markievicz MP (1868 - 1927)

"An Chúntaois Constance Markievicz"

Constance Georgine Markievicz, Countess Markievicz (Polish: Markiewicz; née Gore-Booth; 4 February 1868 – 15 July 1927) was an Irish Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil politician, revolutionary nationalist, s...

3/17/2009 1/21/2013

George Brent MP (1899 - 1979)

"George Brent"

George Brent (15 March 1899 – 26 May 1979) was an Irish film and television actor in American cinema. Early life He was born George Brendan Nolan in Raharabeg, County Roscommon on the opposit...

12/26/2012 12/26/2012

Lord Edward FitzGerald MP (1763 - 1798)

Fitzgerald joined the British Army in 1779, he served on the staff of Lord Rawdon in the southern theater of the American Revolutionary War. He was seriously wounded at the Battle of Eutaw Springs on...

1/29/2008 12/24/2012

Eoin MacNeill MP (1867 - 1945)

Eoin MacNeill Eoin MacNeill and the Irish Volunteers MacNeill contributed directly to the Rising by establishing, arming and training the Irish Volunteers. Eoin MacNeill (1867-1945) was born of mid...

10/26/2008 12/24/2012

Cathal Brugha MP (1874 - 1922)

"Charles William St. John Burgess", "Catal Brugha"

Cathal Brugha Charles William St. John Burgess (18 July 1874 – 7 July 1922) was an Irish revolutionary and politician, active in the Easter Rising, Irish War of Independence, and the Irish Civil War ...

11/22/2009 12/24/2012

Éamon de Valera MP (1882 - 1975)

"Edward de Valera"

Irish nationalist of Irish and Spanish descent. Joined the IRB (Fenians) in 1913. Commanded Bollands Mills during the 1916 Easter Rising. Court-mashalled and sentenced to death, but repreived. Elected ...

3/1/2012 12/24/2012

William Smith O'Brien MP (1803 - 1864)

William Smith O'Brien (Irish: Liam Mac Gabhann Ó Briain; 17 October 1803 – 18 June 1864) was an Irish Nationalist and Member of Parliament (MP) and leader of the Young Ireland movement. He was convic...

12/4/2010 12/24/2012

Robert Emmet MP (1778 - 1803)

Emmet was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1778. His father served as surgeon to the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland and to members of the British Royal Family on their visits to Ireland. Despite his privileged...

12/23/2008 12/24/2012

Thomas Addis Emmet MP (1764 - 1827)

Thomas Addis Emmet (April 24, 1764 – November 14, 1827) was an Irish and American lawyer and politician. He was a senior member of the revolutionary republican group United Irishmen in the 1790s and ...

12/23/2008 12/24/2012

Michael Collins MP (1890 - 1922)

"Micheál Ó Coileáin"

Micheál Ó Coileáin Irish revolutionary leader, Minister for Finance and Teachta Dála (TD) for Cork South in the First Dáil of 1919, Director of Intelligence for the IRA, and member of the Irish deleg...

11/5/2011 11/5/2011

Robert Erskine Childers MP (1870 - 1922)

Robert Erskine Childers DSC (25 June 1870 – 24 November 1922), universally known as Erskine Childers,( /ˈɜrskɨn ˈtʃɪldərz/) was the author of the influential novel Riddle of the Sands and an Irish nati...

7/8/2011 7/8/2011

Jane Francesca Wilde MP (1821 - 1896)

"Speranza", "Agnes", "Lady Wilde"

Jane Wilde, under the pseudonym "Speranza" (the Italian word for 'Hope'), wrote poetry for the revolutionary Young Irelanders in 1848 and was a life-long Irish nationalist. She read the Young Ireland...

1/6/2011 1/6/2011

Thomas Francis Meagher Thomas Francis Meagher ( /ˈmɑrh/; August 3, 1823 – July 1, 1867) was an Irish nationalist and leader of the Young Irelanders in the Rebellion of 1848. After being convicted o...

6/12/2008 12/8/2010

Thomas Carlyle MP (1795 - 1881)

Thomas Carlyle was most famous in the Victorian era, when he was known for his dense, thoughtful books on history and philosophy. The son of a strict Calvinist, Carlyle became a divinity student at E...

10/15/2008 12/4/2010

John Mitchel MP (1815 - 1875)

John Mitchel (1815 - 1875) John Mitchel, described by Patrick Pearse as 'Ireland's greatest literary figure' was an Irish revolutionist, journalist and practicing lawyer who railed against the Englis...

12/15/2009 12/4/2010