Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Jerauld County, South Dakota

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Jerauld County, South Dakota.

In 1873, the area occupied by the present Jerauld county was organized into Wetmore County. In 1881, Wetmore and its neighbor county to the south, Cragin County, were combined to form Aurora County. In 1883, the area of the former Wetmore County was reincorporated as present-day Jerauld County and was named for H. J. Jerauld, a legislator.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Communities

  • Alpena
  • Anina
  • Blaine
  • Chery
  • Crow
  • Crow Lake
  • Dale
  • Franklin
  • Harmony
  • Lane
  • Logan
  • Marlar
  • Media
  • Pleasant
  • Viola
  • Wessington Springs (County Seat)



Genealogy Trails

Jerauld Co. History

Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places